After surprise Assembly win, Satna and Rewa BJP’s big test in LS polls 

Out of the seven Lok Sabha seats going to the polls on May 6 in Madhya Pradesh, two seats — Satna and Rewa — were won by the BJP in the Assembly elections held five While the BJP won six out of eight

Published: 04th May 2019 10:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th May 2019 09:45 PM   |  A+A-

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi waves at a public meeting in Rewa | PTI file

By Express News Service

BHOPAL:  Out of the seven Lok Sabha seats going to the polls on May 6 in Madhya Pradesh, two seats — Satna and Rewa — were won by the BJP in the Assembly elections held five months ago. The BJP, which suffered major reverses in its citadel Malwa-Nimar and Gwalior-Chambal region, clinched unprecedented success in 16 Assembly segments of the two LS seats of Vindhya region, winning 14 assembly seats.

While the BJP won six out of eight Assembly seats in the Satna LS seat— a BJP bastion since 1998— it also won all eight assembly seats forming the Rewa LS constituency in November 2018 Assembly polls.
In 2014, sitting BJP MP Ganesh Singh won for the third time, defeating Congress strongman Ajay Singh.

In Rewa, however, riding the Modi wave, BJP’s Janardan Mishra wrested the seat from the BSP by defeating Congress candidate Sunderlal Tiwari by 1.68 lakh votes in Assembly polls.


Both Mishra and Singh are again contesting as BJP candidates from Rewa and Satna respectively. According to political analyst Vishnukant Tripathi, BJP is battling anti-incumbency in both seats, particularly Satna, where Congress’ Rajaram Tripathi, is eyeing consolidation of upper caste (Brahmin) votes.

In Rewa, the Congress has fielded Siddharth Tiwari, son of ex-MP Sunderlal, who died a few months back. With Siddharth being Sunderlal’s son and ex-MP Vidhan Sabha Speaker Late Sriniwas Tiwari’s grandson, the Congress is banking on sympathy votes.

In Satna, three-time sitting MP Ganesh Singh, who faces anti-incumbency is banking on the power of OBC votes combined with SC/ST voters (who backed BJP in 2018) to turn the tide. However, Singh is not only confronted by the consolidation of upper caste votes but also apprehension among his ranks about sabotage, particularly by those related to BJP MLAs, Narayan Tripathi (Maihar) and Vikram Singh (Rampur Baghelan).

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp