SC stays disqualification proceedings against two AIADMK MLAs

On April 30, A Prabhu, Kalaiselvan and E Rathinasabapathy were served notices, seeking an explanation for allegedly siding with AMMK leader TTV Dhinakaran.

Published: 06th May 2019 12:15 PM  |   Last Updated: 06th May 2019 02:07 PM   |  A+A-

Supreme Court

Supreme Court (File Photo | EPS)


NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court Monday stayed disqualification proceedings against two AIADMK MLAs who were served notice by the Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker for allegedly indulging in "anti-party" activities.

The notices were served under the Anti-defection law.

A bench of Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justice Deepak Gupta also issued notices on the plea filed by two AIADMK MLAs V T Kalaiselvan and E Rathinasabapathy.


Stay of proceedings," the bench said.

On April 30, A Prabhu (Kallakurichi), Kalaiselvan (Vriddhachalam) and E Rathinasabapathy (Aranthangi) were served notices by Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal, seeking an explanation for allegedly siding with Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) leader TTV Dhinakaran.

Out of the three MLAs, two lawmakers have approached the Supreme Court challenging the notice served to them.

Their petition had sought directions prohibiting the Speaker from acting without jurisdiction and to adjudicate the disqualification petition during the pendency of no-confidence motion against him.

"It is submitted that the actions of the Respondent number-1 (speaker) in the last two years speaks volumes of his partisan and biased conduct and has reasonable apprehension that the respondent number-1 would not be following the dictum of law laid down and would act without jurisdiction to adjudicate and decide the disqualification petition", the plea said.

The action of the speaker is without jurisdiction, arbitrary and actuated with malice, it added.

"The action of Respondent-1 is violative of fundamental right of petitioner under Article 14, 19 (1) (a) and is likely to hamper the right of free speech and expression of the petitioner," the plea said.

It said that just when the election result of the by-election to 22 assembly seats are due to be announced on May 23, the action taken by speaker to initiate disqualification proceedings against them "smacks of biased and partisan attitude".

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp