Arunachal Assembly will have 20 first time MLAs

The JD(U) and the NPP contested the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections for the first time. The border state has a legacy of electing first timers.

Published: 25th May 2019 03:42 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2019 03:42 PM   |  A+A-


ITANAGAR: As many as 20 first timers won the Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh this time with a majority of them belonging to the ruling BJP.

Arunachal Pradesh has a 60-member Assembly. Eleven of the first-timers are from the BJP, six from Janata Dal (United), two from National People's Party (NPP) and one Independent.

The JD(U) and the NPP contested the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections for the first time. The border state has a legacy of electing first timers.

In 2014 Assembly polls, altogether 19 newcomers were elected in this remote northeastern state while in the 2009 polls 17 new entrants tasted luck.

The figure was encouraging in the 2004 Assembly elections where 24 new faces were elected.

Among the newcomers in this election are BJP candidates from Bameng seat Goruk Pordung and from Lekang constituency Jummum Ete Deori along with JD(U) candidate from Kalaktang constituency Dorjee Wangdi Kharma.

They emerged as giant killers as they defeated three senior leaders of the state.

While Pordung defeated sitting Home Minister Kumar Waii (NPP) from Bameng seat, Jummum Ete Deori defeated Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Takam Sanjoy and Kharma defeated outgoing Assembly speaker Tenzing Norbu Thongdok of the BJP.

Waii seeking re-election from the constituency as an NPP candidate after he was denied BJP ticket, had represented the constituency for three consecutive terms as Congress candidate.

While Thongdok represented the constituency for two consecutive terms as Congress candidate, Sanjoy was contesting from Lekang for the first time though he had represented Palin constituency in Kurung Kumey district for several terms and was also a Lok Sabha MP for one term.

Another first timer Nakap Nalo of the BJP defeated former Home Minister Tanga Byaling who was seeking re-election from the Nacho constituency on a Congress ticket after retaining it for five consecutive terms.

JD(U) first timers Talem Taboh from Rumgong seat and Dongree Siongju (Bomdila) could prove their mettle as they defeated Power Minister Tamiyo Taga and senior BJP leader Japu Deru in a tough contest.

Two first timers of the BJP including Taba Tedir from Yachuli constituency and Kento Jini Along East constituency set a record of winning the seats unopposed.

Other first timers of the saffron party includes, Tana Hali Tara (Doinmukh), Mopi Mihu (Anini), Ojing Tashing, Tanpho Wangnaw (Longding-Pumao), Taniya Soki (Daporijo) and Rode Bui from Dumporijo constituency.

Among the JDU first timers, Kanggong Taku won from Mariyang-Geku seat, Jikke Taku (Tali) and Hayeng Mangfi from Chayangtajo constituency. The NPP first timers include Gokar Basar from Basar constituency and Tarin Dakpe from Raga seat.

Independent candidate Somlung Mossang who won from the un-reserved Bordumsa-Diyun seat, is a first timer.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp