21 suspended as MP cracks whip - The New Indian Express

21 suspended as MP cracks whip

Published: 16th October 2013 01:40 AM

Last Updated: 16th October 2013 01:40 AM

The Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led BJP Government in Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday suspended 17 police officials in connection with Sunday’s Ratangarh temple stampede which had left at least 115 people dead, besides resulting in injuries to several others.

According to Chambal Range DIG D K Arya, those suspended were Station House Officer (SHO) of Tharet police station, Veer Bahadur Singh; SHO (Indergarh)J L Ahirwar and SHO (Apreta) G S Tomar.

“Apart from the three,four head constables and 10 constables attached to these police stations have also been suspended,” Arya said.

Earlier on Monday four senior officials, including District Collector Bhondve Sanket Shantaram,  SP C S Solanki, Sewdha’s Sub-Divisional  Magistrate (Revenue) Maheep Kishore Tejaswi and Sub-Divisional Officer

(Police) B N Basawe were also suspended by the state government for dereliction of duty.

And M P Raghuraj, who was earlier Jabalpur’s Director (Skill Development), will be the new Datia Collector, while R K Marathe has been made the SP.

Also,Deputy Superintendent of Police in the Economic Offences Wing M P Sharma was made the new SDOP while the Additional Commissioner M L Daultani has been brought in as the Sewdha Sub Divisonal Magistrate (Revenue).

From Around the Web