BJP finalises 150 MP candidates - The New Indian Express

BJP finalises 150 MP candidates

Published: 26th October 2013 11:34 AM

Last Updated: 31st October 2013 07:36 PM

The BJP has decided on the candidates to contest in 150 out of the 230 seats for the upcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, according to senior party sources. The names of the candidates will be announced once the party’s Central Election Committee approves the list, they added.  As reported by ‘Express’ earlier, the party has decided not to give tickets to at least 30 sitting MLAs. Fifteen new faces, including relatives of some leaders, have been given the BJP ticket.

Madhya Pradesh: Constituency wise details

Seats of few MLAs, for whom the party received negative feedbacks, are likely to be changed.  Those who had sought a seat change were Anup Mishra, MLA from Gwalior who is also the nephew of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, and Agriculture Ministe Ramkrishna Kusmariya.

“The party has also decided to give tickets to some former ministers who had lost in the last election. Some of them are Ramakant Tiwari, Himmat Kothari, Kailash Chawla and Rustam Singh,” a party source told ‘Express’.Party sources said the ticket of Jayant Malaiya, an MLA from Damoh and a minister in Shivraj Singh Chauhan Cabinet, was in danger. “Also, the fate of Forest Minister Sartaj Singh is still to be decided,” the sources added.

Sources said the tickets of the MLAs and ministers were being cut after surveys and feedbacks confirmed they would not be able to retain their seats.

When asked about the possibility of these MLAs turning rebellious, a senior party leader said, “We are not worried about them damaging the prospect of the party due to a rebellion. If they were so popular in their seats, their tickets would not have been cut in the first place.”  The BJP state leadership including Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, state party president Narendra Singh Tomar and general secretary (organisation) Arvind Menon have reportedly asked some of the MPs to contest in the Assembly elections.

Those MPs who have been asked to be ready for the Assembly polls are Ganesh Singh (MP from Satna), Bhupendra Singh (MP from Sagar), Jitendra Singh Bundela (MP from Khajuraho) and Yashodhara Raje Scindia (MP from Gwalior).

The party is also likely to give tickets to kin of four party leaders.

Vikram (son of Tukojirao Pawar), Pushpraj (son of former minister Jugalkishore Bagri), Harvash (son of senior leader Harnam Singh Rathore) and Uttam (son of Premnarayan Thakur) have been assured of the ticket.

Jalam Singh, brother of former Union minister Prahlad Singh Patel, and Harsh Singh, brother of Dhruvnarayan Singh who was embroiled in the Shehla Madood controversy, are also likely to contest the elections for the BJP.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt