New MEA secretaries approved - The New Indian Express

New MEA secretaries approved

Published: 12th October 2013 11:08 AM

Last Updated: 12th October 2013 11:08 AM

The new line-up of Secretaries in the Ministry of External Affairs was formally announced on Friday, following the approval of the Appoints Committee to the Cabinet (ACC).

With Ashok Kantha appointed as the Indian Ambassador to China, he will be replaced as the Secretary (east) by 1979-batch IFS officer and current envoy to Thailand Anil Wadhwa.

Dinkar Khullar, based in Brussels as the Indian envoy, will be back in the headquarters as the Secretary (west) following the retirement of Sudhir Vyas. The ACC also approved P S Raghavan’s appointment as the Secretary (economic relations) in place of Pinak Ranjan Chakravarty, who has also retired. Raghavan is Special Secretary (administration) at the MEA. This will complete the new dispensation at the South Block and mark the complete change at top, following the elevation of Sujatha Singh as the new Foreign Secretary in August.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt