TNSA boys win Gold in team racing

Published: 01st March 2013 11:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st March 2013 11:00 AM   |  A+A-

Tamil Nadu Sailing Association’s wards made India proud in the recently concluded International Sailing Regatta in Doha.

In the Optmist class, the Indian team of Vishnu Sujeesh Areekara, Mahesh Balachander, Aniketh Rajaram, Naveen Kumanan and Venkat  Krishna Karumanchi, all from TNSA, fought off the favourites, Norway, to win the gold in the team racing championship. In Optimist fleet racing, India claimed gold and bronze. Vishnu Saravanan from CESC Pune won the gold, while TNSA’s Mahesh Balachander won bronze. In a fleet of 38, six of the seven Indian sailors, all but one from TNSA, finished among the top 12, while one finished at 18th.

The two top Indian teams, both from TNSA, KC Ganapathy/Varun Thakkar and Varsha Gautham/ Aishwarya Nedunchezhiyan won gold and silver beating Norway, which had swept all three top positions at “Sail the Gulf” in the last two years, in the 29er segment. Ganapathy and Varun, who won the gold, came to Doha fresh from the 29er Eurocup #1 for the year 2013, held near Barcelona, Spain, where they finished seventh in the open category.

Besides, AYN sailors Gajender and Dharmender won silver and bronze in the Laser Standard, while Ayaz Shaikh and Sandip Jain won the silver in 470, taking India’s medal tally to a never-before eight in a single event.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp