Fresh faces looking to make their mark

Published: 07th October 2016 02:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th October 2016 04:11 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

BENGALURU: Jasjit Singh Kular, Talwinder Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay are the new faces in the Indian men’s hockey team that will take part in the Asian Champions Trophy in Kuantan (Malaysia) from October 20. Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh will lead the side, with Manpreet Singh being named vice-captain.

Roger van Gent

Drag flicker VR Raghunath didn’t make the squad due to injury, so Kular could be given penalty corner duties, along with Rupinderpal Singh.

“It is time for a new cycle, and a new beginning for us after the Olympics,” said Sreejesh on the new players in the team. “Youngsters have been added, especially in the forward-line and defence.

“It’s an important phase for youngsters, because we are looking at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. Players like Yousuf and Lalit have been among the core probables, but everybody could not get a chance before Rio,” he added.

Strategic coach Roger van Gent said: “The camp is going well. Before Roelant Oltmans left (with the junior team for Australia), we discussed things that needed to improve. The team is working well. We had a fitness test on Wednesday, and players look fit. Raghunath has injured his elbow joint, and requires three weeks of rehabilitation. Manpreet is injured, and so is (SV) Sunil, but they will manage to play. We’re currently working on them.”

The team has also been analysing their performances in Rio. “Oltmans spoke about the running lines for forwards, the combination in midfield and receiving the ball, and the defense line. We’ve been working on these things, and there has been improvement,” concluded Van Gent.


Squad: PR Sreejesh (C), Akash Chikte, Rupinderpal Singh, Pardeep Mor, Jasjit Singh Kular, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Manpreet Singh (VC), Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Devindar Walmiki, Talwinder Singh, SV Sunil, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Affan Yousuf.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp