Kenyans Runners Send World 10K Records Tumbling - The New Indian Express

Kenyans Runners Send World 10K Records Tumbling

Published: 19th May 2014 12:23 PM

Last Updated: 19th May 2014 12:24 PM

BANGALORE: Three Kenyans rewrote the World 10K men’s and women’s records as they blazed away to glory on a warm Sunday morning.

The 2012 winner Geoffrey Kipsang Kamworor of Kenya won the men’s event in 00:27.44 mins shattering the previous best of 00:27.51 set by World Half Marathon champion Zersenay Tadese of Eritrea in 2008. Uganda’s Joshua Cheptegei made a memorable international debut taking the silver in 00:28.24, while Ethiopian Kinde Atanaw took the bronze in 00:28.35.

The Kenyans made a clean sweep of the top three places in the women’s section. Lucy Kabuu, placed fourth here last year, sent Ethiopia’s Ayalew Wude Yimer’s record of 00:31.58 set in 2010 tumbling when she clocked 00:31.48. Her teammate Joyce Chepkirui also broke the record clocking 00:31.55 while Linet Masai was third in 00:32.28.

In the men’s race, at 8km, the wiry Geoffrey opened up a big lead of more than 100 metres and then entered the stadium all alone to breast the tape, held up by the legendary Carl Lewis, in record time. Joshua stayed in second spot while Kinde took the bronze.

“It was a bit hot and also there were people who hampered the run. Yet, I did my best and was keen to break the record. Maybe, if the race had started an hour earlier, I would have done better,” said a beaming Geoffrey.

For the women, Joyce and Lucy were still racing alongside each other past the halfway mark. But at 7.5km, Lucy stepped up the pressure and surged ahead. As she entered the stadium, she was more than 50 metres ahead and stopped the clock in record time. Joyce also set a record but could do no better than finish second.

“Last year I was fourth but this time I had made up mind to win. I’m happy I did that. It was tough as it was quite hot. I think they should start the race a little early for us to do even better,” said Lucy after the Kenyans reigned supreme.

The winners bagged $21,000 and a bonus of $7,500 for breaking the existing records.

Important results: Elite Men: Geoffrey Kipsang Kamworor (KEN) 00:27:44 mins (NCR); Joshua Cheptegei (UGA) 00:28:24; Kinde Atanaw (ETH) 00:28:35. Elite women: Lucy Kabuu (KEN) 00:31:48 (NCR); Goyce Chepkirui (KEN) 00:31:55 (NCR); Linet Masai (KEN) 00:32:28.

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook