Srikkanth chosen for TNSJA lifetime achievement award - The New Indian Express

Srikkanth chosen for TNSJA lifetime achievement award

Published: 28th October 2012 10:28 AM

Last Updated: 28th October 2012 10:28 AM

Former India captain and national selector K Srikkanth will get  lifetime achievement award from the Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists’ Association (TNSJA) at their awards  night on November 3.

The TNSJA will honour sportspersons from the state on the occasion. Ace Indian spinner R Ashwin, who has become an integral part of the Indian team in all the formats of the team  and who was  part of the World Cup- winning Indian team, will receive the TNSJA Tamil Nadu Sportsman of  the Year award, while squash star Dipika Pallikal, ranked 14 in the world, has been chosen for the Tamil Nadu Sportswoman of the Year award.

Top Tamil Nadu athletes from various sports discpline will grace the awards night.Former India hockey captain V. Baskaran, former four-time Olympian athlete Shiny Wilson will grace the function. The highlight of the function will be the presentation of scholarships to 10 budding  sportspersons from Tamil Nadu.  The TNSJA will award `25,000 each to the following future champions:

K Premkumar and A. Suresh (athletics), S. Karthikeyan (basketball), P Appu (boxing), J Saranya and M Mahalakshmi (chess), CA Bhavani Devi (fencing), U Jayakumar (football), P Dhamu (hockey)  and C Jerome Vineeth (volleyball).

Kaushik slams ton

M Kaushik Gandhi’s century (109; 219b, 15x4) enabled Tamil Nadu `A’ post a mamoth total of   329 against J&K  `A’ on the second day of the Elite Group ‘B’ Zone (under-25) match for the Col  C.K.Nayudu Trophy at Murugappa grounds. J and K were 7 for no loss in their second essay when stumps were drawn. Suryapprakash (43) and Kaushik 101 runs in in 30.3 for the second wicket.

Brief scores

J&K ‘A’ 163 and 7 for no loss in 2 overs vs Tamil Nadu ‘A’ 329 in 108.1 overs  (LSuryapprakash  43, M Kaushik Gandhi 109, K Martin Sanjeev 33, Malolan Rangarajan 36, R Karthik Adithya 58, Sahil Sharma 3/62, Aamir Aziz 3/70).

Prasannaa triumphs

Chennai boy S Prasannaa, a student of Velammal School, emerged champion with 8.5 points after the 10 and final round of the United India 2nd CDCA FIDE-rated chess tournament here on Sunday.

The 15-year-old got a cash award of `25,000 along with the trophy. Top seed and IM norm holder Ram S Krishnan (BSNL), FM P Maheswaran, FM M Vinoth Kumar, IM R Balasubramaniam (ICF), P Lokesh and Linda Rangarajan (Pondy) jointly shared the second spot on eight points.

Asari, seshadri suspended

The Tamil Nadu State Aquatic Association   temporarily suspended their secretary M Nainar Asari and treasurer KS Seshadri at the executive committee meeting on Saturday.

According to a release from TNSAA, Asari  recommended a particular swimmer by suppressing important and vital information to the members of the selection committee of Scholarship Scheme for Elite Sportspersons and thereby making the selection committee to select one particular swimmer for the scholarship worth Rs 25 lakh per annum from the Government of Tamil Nadu. Seshadri has  not submitted accounts of a national meet held recently, added the release. D Jayaraman was appointed as secretary–in-charge and S Thirumaran treasurer-in-charge till the outcome of the disciplinary action against Asari and Seshadri or till the next elections.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt