Awards for Srikkanth, Dipika - The New Indian Express

Awards for Srikkanth, Dipika

Published: 04th November 2012 11:02 AM

Last Updated: 04th November 2012 11:27 AM

Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists Association honoured former India skipper and selection committee chairman Kris Srikkanth with a ‘lifetime achievement’ award in the Green Valleys Shelters Private Limited-TNSJA award night here on Saturday.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and squash player and world number 13 Dipika Pallikal bagged the  sportsperson of the year and sportswoman of the year awards while Tamil Nadu all-rounder Baba Aparajith was adjudged the young achiever of the year.

Though Ashwin couldn’t attend the event as Tamil Nadu is playing Odisha in a Ranji match in Cuttack, he thanked TNSJA over the phone.  “It’s an honour to be adjudged the sportsperson of the year, and I would have definitely been there. I had in fact promised to be there. But now we are playing a match here in Cuttack, and obviously duty comes first,” he said.

Dipika, who has been riding a crest of wave since last year, said she was glad to receive the award and promised she would strive for more. “The city has encouraged and supported me a lot in achieving this level and I hope I would have reasons to make you happier,” she said.

With the vision to promote fledgling talent was formed the scholarship initiative to 10 deserving athletes, who were given a cash award of `25,000 apiece. They were K Premkumar and A. Suresh (athletics), S Karthikeyan (basketball), P Appu (boxing), J Saranya and M Mahalakshmi (chess), CA Bhavani Devi (fencing), U Jayakumar (football), P Dhamu (hockey) and C  Jerome Vineeth (volleyball).

Among the attendees were a host of former and present athletes.

Must Read

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt