Sunil puts TN ‘A’ in strong position Vs Odisha ‘A’ - The New Indian Express

Sunil puts TN ‘A’ in strong position Vs Odisha ‘A’

Published: 18th November 2012 10:44 AM

Last Updated: 18th November 2012 10:44 AM

Sunil Sam’s 5 for 42 enabled Tamil Nadu ‘A’ to restrict Odisha ‘A’ to 213 for 8 in 94.5 overs on the first day of the CK Nayudu Trophy Elite ‘B’ match at IC-Guru Nanak College grounds.

Shesdeep Patra who was unbeaten on 54 was the top scorer for the visitors.

Brief scores: Odisha ‘A’ 213 for 8 in 94.5 overs (Girija Rout 29, Priyatosh Parmanik 30, Payas Sinha 30, Shesdeep Patra 54 batting 54, Bibhudutta Panda 25,Sunil Sam 5/42) vs Odisha ‘A’

Vijai shines

Vijai Aravindh 32 was the feature of Vidya Mandir’s 37-run win over DAV Mogappair in the Don Bosco Bicentenary under-10 Cricket tournament.

Brief scores

MCC Mat. Hr. Sec. School 47 in 11.1 overs (B Anirudh 3/4; V Arjun 2/6) lost to Bala Vidya Mandir 48 for 1 in 5.1 overs (B Aaditya 17 no) MoM: B Anirudh;

Vael’s Billabong 115 for 5 in 15 overs (Neyan 28, Aryn yohan 18, Joseph Samuel 2/9) bt St. Mary’s 56 for 9 in 15 overs (Neyan 3/4; Roshan 2/8) MoM: Neyan Vidya; Mandir 98 for 4 in 15 overs (Vijai Aravindh 32, Calab 15, Mukileashwar 2/15) bt DAV (Mogappair) 61 for 6 in 15 overs (Kailash 3/7).

MoM: Vijai Aravindh.

Kancheepuram overcome karur

Kancheepuram beat Karur 25-14, 25-19 in straight sets in the SDAT, Tamil Nadu first state level volleyball tournment for Chief Minister’s Trophy.

Results: Men: Kancheepuram bt Karur 25-14, 25-19; Trichy bt Villupuram 25-19, 25-18; Salem bt Thanjavur 25-11, 25-13.

Women: Madirai bt Thiruvannamali 25-21, 25-16; Kancheepuram bt Dharmapuri 25-0, 25-3; Thiruppur bt Krishnagiri 25-21, meet record for Karthikeyan

S Karthikeyan of Turtles with a timing of 1:38:35 created a new record in 10m IM Group VI event at the State Swimmig meet at Velachery Aquatic complex.

Prassanna of SDAT Trichy clocked 1:40:28 to better the meet record. The original record was held by J Davis of Cuddalore (1:40:71).

Results: Boys (Freestyle):

800m (Open): P Dineshkumar (TSPA) 12:02:55. Group I: JT Yugesh Kumar (Turtles) 09:14:99 Group II: Andrew Rajan (TSPA) 10:14:57 200m (Open): Jaywant Vijayakumar (Turtles) 2:03:93

Group I: Sethu Manickavel (TDSA Tirunelveli) 2:04:49 Group II: Andrew Rajan (TSPA) 2:17:48

50m (Open): Jaywant Vijayakumar (Turtles) 0:25:43. Group I: M Anandhan (SDAT Shakthi) 0:25:55

Group II: P Mukundhan (SDAT Shakthi) 0:26:41 Group IV: D Adhithya (TSPA) 0:32:13 Group V: J Jeffin (SDAT Tuticorin) 0:36:60

Breaststroke: 50m (Group III): S Danush (TSPA) 0:36:54 (NMR).Group V: VP Viswa Dhanajayam (TDSA Tirunelveli) 0:50:90

Butterfly: 25m: Group VI:

S Karthikeyan (Turtles) 0:17:41 (NMR). 100m (Open): Jaywant Vijayakumar (Turtles) 1:01:25

Group I: JT Yugesh Kumar (Turtles) 1:01:19 Group II: SM Mukesh (Chennai Corpn) 1:07:19 Group III: Dinesh (TSPA) 1:10:22. Backstroke: 25m: Group VI: DA Prassanna Muthu (SDAT Trichy) 0:19:22  (NMR). Girls (Butterfly)

25m (Group VI): A Jedidah (SDAT Trichy)  0:18:56 (NMR).

100m: Group I: VKR Meenakshi (Turtles) 1:08:92 Group II: Sherlyn Devadason (ORCA) 1:07:96

Breaststroke: 100m (Open): M Raghavi (Turtles)1:25:69 Group II: AV Jayaveena (Turtles)1:22:32

50m: Group IV: SM Swetha (Chennai Corpn) 0:43:10 (NMR); R Jaahnavi (ORCA) 0:43:51(BMR)

Goalless draw

The St Joseph’s CFA Senior Division League match between AGORC and SAI ended in a goalless draw.


Senior Division League: AGORC 0 drew with SAI 0. MoM: Naveen Kumar (AGORC defender). First Division: Income Tax 10 (Raegan 4, Venkatesan 4, Britto, Vigneswaran) bt DBYC (Broadway) 0.

From Around the Web