Tiviakov bags international crown - The New Indian Express

Tiviakov bags international crown

Published: 02nd December 2012 11:51 AM

Last Updated: 02nd December 2012 11:51 AM

Grandmasters M R Lalith Babu and Sergei Tiviakov scored final round victories to tie for first place with 9.5 points after the 11th round of the Apollo Engineering College Commonwealth Chess Championships 2012 at Multipurpose Indoor Stadium here on Saturday. Tiviakov was awarded a cash prize of Rs 1,50,000 along with the Commonwealth International Open title, while Lalith Babu was crowned the Commonwealth champion along with a trophy and a cash award of `1,25,000.

Tiviakov and Lalith Babu defeated S L Narayanan and P Karthikeyan respectively. Tiviakov edged Lalith on  tie-break to finish first. With the Commonwealth Chess Championships being incorporated with the International Open, Tiviakov from The Netherlands, which is not a Commonwealth country, was declared the Open champion. Finishing behind gold medallist Lalith Babu were Chennai-based GMs M Shyam Sundar and SP Sethuraman, who were awarded the Commonwealth silver and bronze medals. The gold, silver and bronze medals in the women’s section went to Sowmya Swaminathan, Nisha Mohota and Mary Ann Gomes respectively. Chennai-based Ram S Krishnan of BSNL made it a double delight as he upset GM Mikhailo Oleksienko of Ukraine and added a GM Norm to his 9-game IM Norm. Giant-killer Narayanan made his second IM Norm. Final Placings: 1-2: Sergei Tiviakov (The Netherlands), M R Lalith Babu (India) 9.5, 3-4: M Shyam Sundar, SP Sethuraman (both India) 9, 5-10: P Karthikeyan, Ram S Krishnan, S L Narayanan, Akshayraj Kore, B Adhiban (all India), D Lintchevski (Russia) 8.5, 11-20: S A Prasad (India), M Dzhumaev (Uzbekistan), CRG Krishna (India), Alexander Fominyh (Russia), M R Venkatesh (India), R Nolte, Garcia Jan Emmanuel, Mark Paragua (all Philippines), J D Chakkravarthy, G Akash (both India) 8.

Round 11 Results (Indians unless specified): S Tiviakov (Ned) 9.5 bt S L Narayanan 8.5, M R Lalith Babu 9.5 bt P Karthikeyan 8.5, S P Sethuraman 9 bt Marat Dzhumaev (Uzb) 8, M Shyam Sundar 9 bt Adly Ahmed (Egy) 7.5, H Sharma 7.5 lost to B Adhiban 8.5, D Lintchevski (Rus) 8.5 bt A Chithambaram 7.5, Ram S Krishnan 8.5 bt Oleksienko Mikhailo (Ukr) 7.5, M R Venkatesh 8 drew with G Akash 8, Akshayraj Kore 8.5 bt S Vijayalakshmi 7.5, R Sardana 8 drew with Alexander Fominyh (Rus) 8, Mark Paragua (Phi) 8 bt E Senador (Phi) 7.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt