Chennai: Eagle record 3-wicket victory over Galaxy - The New Indian Express

Chennai: Eagle record 3-wicket victory over Galaxy

Published: 07th December 2012 10:49 AM

Last Updated: 07th December 2012 10:49 AM

Eagle CC wheedled out a three wicket win over Galaxy in a TNCA fourth division group B match here recently. R Venkatesh and B Rajinikanth shared three wickets apiece and confined Galaxy to a paltry 133 in 49.3 overs. Though Eagle weren’t exactly comfortable while chasing, P Krishnamoorthy struck an unbeaten 42 to nudge them home.

Brief scores

(Division IV, B): Galaxy 133 in 49.3 overs (S Sathya Narayanan 32, P Raghavendra 33 no, R Venkatesh 3/22, Rohit Bafna 3/37) lost to Eagle 134 for 7 in 41.1 overs (P  Krishnamoorthy 42 no, B Rajinikanth 3/33). Netaji 125 in 34.4 overs (RM Sriram 3/30, A Imran Khan Pathan 6/32) lost to YMA 128 for 8 in 39.2 overs (RM Sriram 32 no, M Jerme Carolus 3/47). Chatnath 227 for 9 in 50 overs (V Sathish 62, K Sridhar 3/53) lost to Ashok Leyland 228 for 7 in 49.5 overs (BM Balu Rajkumar 79, N Kannan 4/43). Gems 160 for 9 in 50 overs (T Sundaramurthy 48, S Harish 3/28) lost to Sir Theagaraya RC 161 for 6 in 41.1 overs (L Saravanan 67). Mylapore ‘A’ 227 in 48.1 overs (A Parthiban 60, M Rahim 4/38) bt Fox Trotters 128 in 46.4 overs (K Karthik 3/32, G Dinesh 3/44). Triplicane 199 for 9 in 50 overs (KR Shreyas 75, E Sundarapandian 4/60) bt TANGEDCO 79 in 21.4 overs (G Inbanathan 3/30, Sree Hari Prasath Rao 4/40, W Jayakumar 3/6).


Uttar Pradesh claimed the team championship in the weightlifting event of the All-India Postal weightlifting, powerlifting and best physique tournament held here. Defending champions Tamil Nadu emerged second while West Bengal finished third. Andhra Pradesh’s Siva Kesava Yadev was deemed the best weightlifter while UP’s Firoz Yunus Khan bagged the strongest man of the tournament award. 


Weightlifting: 85kg: 1. G Naga Raju (AP), 2. Rajunag (West Bengal), 3. G Elangovan (TN), 94kg: 1. Amit Kumar Sharma (UP), 2. Ratul KR Baruah (Assam), 3. S Samaddar (West Bengal), 105 kg: 1. Firoz Yunus Khan (UP), 2. R Rajeshwar Yadav (AP), 3. S Saha (West Bengal), +105kg: 1. S Kumar Patra (Orissa), 2. P Esakkimuthu (TN), 3. LK Pakel (UP), Best weightlifter: Siva Kesava Yadev (AP), Strong man: Firoz Yunus Khan (UP).


Adhithya Raghuraman’s 94 was the feature of PSBB KK. Nagar’s 123-run win over Bhavan’s Rajaji in the TNCA–City Schools U-14 tournament for B. Somasundaram Trophy.

Brief scores

PSBB Sr.Sec.School ‘A’, KK Nagar 213 for 3 in 30 overs (Adhithya Raghuraman 94, Akshay Giridhar 26 no) bt Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidyashram, Kilpauk (Ch-10) 90 for 6 in 30 overs (S Srinivasan 3/25). Union Christian Hr.Sec.School (Ch-31) 102 in 24.2 overs (M Zufar 30, S Abishek 3/24, S Adhitya 3/11) bt PSBB Jr.SS, T.Nagar 42 in 20.5 overs (C Inderjit 3/11); Santhome Hr.Sec.School ‘A’, Mylapore 152 for 7 in 30 overs (D A Barooah 42, P Ajith Kumar 43, S Kishore 3/28) bt St John’s Mat.Hr.SS (Ch -49) 52 for 5 in 30 overs. St.Bede’s A.I.H.S.S ‘A’, Mylapore (Ch-4) 188 for 4 in 30 overs (V Dinesh Kumar 106) bt St Mary’s Mat Boys Hr.Sec.School, Perambur 51 in 26.1 overs (D Proudfoot 31 no, V Dinesh Kumar 3/2).


B Indrajith will lead the Tamil Nadu State U-19 team that will play against Bengal in the Elite Group ‘C’ Zone of the Cooch Behar Trophy Tournament to be held from Dec 8 to 11 at Chennai.


B Indrajith (capt), J Koushik (v.c), Bharath Shankar, C Hari Nishanth, M Adithyan, S. Chandrasekar (wk.), M Shahrukh Khan, S Sujay, P Akash Ram, B Vasanth, K Vignesh, MS Promoth, Akshay V Srinivasan, Maan K Bafna, Vasudevan.


R Jithin’s dream spell of 4 for 0 enabled MCC to beat Loyola College by three runs  in the final of a inter-collegiate T20 cricket tournament organised by Madras Christian College  as part of 175th year celebrations.

About 12 colleges participated in the tournament played under league-cum-knockout basis. Jithin was declared  Man of the match.

RS Rangarajan, IA & AS, Principal Accountant General, Govt of TN, an alumnus of the College gave away the trophy and awards.

Brief scores

MCC 67 for 9 in 15 overs (S Ashwath 3/13, Mohammed Saif 2/16, K Vignesh 2/10) bt Loyola College 64 in 14.4 overs (R Jithin 4/0).

MoM: R Jithin.

Other awards: Best Batsman: Sharvesh Shashi (Loyola). Best Bowler: S Ashwath (Loyola).


Sriram of TNBSA defeated Mothinath of Alumini 3-0 in a secod round qualifying match of the TNBSA-Tamil Nadu Billiards State Ranking Snooker tournament.

Results: Sriram (TNBSA ) bt Mothinath (Alumini) 3-0; Rakesh (SVS) bt Sridhar (GJSR) 3-0; AK Ahmed  (TNSC) bt K Khan (TNBSA) 3-0; K Bharath (MY Club) bt Rajaraman (TNBSA) 3-1; Dhyaneshwarn (mr CUE) bt lakshmikanth (SIVA) 3-1; T Arasan (Snook In) bt Nazeer (Q Ball) 3-1; Sudharsan (Snook city) bt Abhinav (Buddys) 3-2; R Prabhakar (SRSA) bt G H Herren (TNBSA) 3-0; Magesh (Q ball) bt Mohan ( snook city) 3-0; R Vijay Kumar (M 2000) bt Tamil Nambi (Snook City) 3-2; R Saravanan (TNBSA) bt Vekeshlu (TNBSA) 3-0; J feroz (mr Cue) bt N kumar (q tricks) 3-0; R Hari Haran (pot 9) bt R Mohan (TNBSA) 3-1.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt