Stakes High for Stars as North Face South

Published: 24th March 2014 01:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th March 2014 01:29 AM   |  A+A-

Once, they were among the pillars holding the Indian cricket team. Not anymore. They wander like lost hunters in the wilderness. The solid Gautam Gambhir and the wily Harbhajan Singh were the architects of many an Indian win, but now in oblivion, will be looking to strike it rich in the City of Destiny.

Ishant.jpgA few good outings would make them serious contenders. There is a lot of pride at stake for these two players when North Zone meet South Zone in the semifinals of the Deodhar Trophy on Monday. The duo will still be the guides for North, who have a fair sprinkle of younger players. But there is Ishant Sharma too, who has to show that he means business with consistent bowling. There are the likes of Perveez Rasool, Rishi Dhawan and Mandeep Singh who would like to impress in front of the national selectors. Rasool, the Jammu & Kashmir off-spinner, has been effective both with the bat and ball. Dhawan was the highest wicket-taker (49) in the Ranji Trophy and this could be another opportunity to showcase his talent and enter the next rung in the ladder.

South won the Deodhar Trophy some ten years ago and they run into a team that is very strong. But the rich form of some of their players could raise hopes for South. Notable among them are fast bowler R Vinay Kumar and opening batsman Robin Uthappa. The duo were important members of the Karnataka team that has enjoyed triple success in the domestic tournaments (Ranji, Irani and Vijay Hazare). Test opener Murali Vijay would be looking to be among runs. For left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who was sadly ignored after his ten-wicket haul in the Mumbai Test against West Indies, this could be another chance too impress the selectors.

Other youngsters like Lokesh Rahul, who caught the eye in the Ranji Trophy, Baba Aparajith, Sanju Samson and Ricky Bhui will also be keenly watched.

North: Harbhajan (c), G Gambhir (vc), P Chopra, R Paliwal, Mandeep, Milind, Gurkeerat, P Rasool, R Dhawan, Ishant, S Kaul, A Nehra, A Sakuja, N Saini.

South: Vinay (c), B Aparajith, S Kamat, A Mithun, M Pandey, KL Rahul, R Shah, M Vijay, D Karthik, R Bhui, Yo Mahesh, P Ojha, P Parameswaran, S Samson, R Uthappa.

Also Read: Central Zone in Semis

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp