England bat against Sri Lanka at third test in Lord's, Perera returns after a brief ban

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the third Test at Lord\'s on Thursday.

Published: 09th June 2016 04:01 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th June 2016 04:01 PM   |  A+A-


England's Moeen Ali celebrates his 50 with Chris Woakes, left, during day two of the Second Test Match against Sri Lanka at the Emirates Riverside, Chester-Le-Street, England, Saturday May 28, 2016. | ( AP )


LONDON: England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the third Test at Lord's on Thursday.

England were unchanged from the side that won the second Test by nine wickets at the Riverside to go an unbeatable 2-0 up in the three-match series, with the under-pressure Middlesex duo of number three batsman Nick Compton and fast bowler Steven Finn given another chance to shine on their Lord's home ground.

Sri Lanka made one change, recalling batsman Kusal Perera for his first match of any kind in more than six months after a doping ban was rescinded because of a faulty drugs test.

Perera replaced injured spin-bowling all-rounder Milinda Siriwardana.

Shaminda Eranga was retained in the side despite the paceman being reported for a suspect action during the second Test.

Under International Cricket Council regulations, Eranga is free to play while the results of a test on his action are scrutinised.

Sri Lanka have yet to win a Test at Lord's, with seven previous meetings at the 'home of cricket' against England yielding five draws and two defeats.

Their last four Tests have all ended in draws and all first-class matches played at Lord's this season have also ended in a stalemate on a succession of typically good batting pitches.

Before the toss, Cook was presented with a commemorative silver bat by the England and Wales Cricket Board to mark his achievement in reaching 10,000 Test runs -- the first England player to do so -- during the second Test.


England: Alastair Cook (capt), Alex Hales, Nick Compton, Joe Root, James Vince, Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, James Anderson

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (wkt), Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: Rod Tucker (AUS), S Ravi (IND)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Weather: Sunny, 14 degrees C rising to 22 degrees C.

Pitch conditions: Surface with light grass covering should be a good one for batting, although there may be early movement.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp