Ashwin Venkatraman replaces Ravichandran Ashwin as captain for Dindigul Dragons

Ace Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will not be available due to the Sri Lanka tour.

Published: 13th July 2017 01:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th July 2017 02:10 PM   |  A+A-

Indian cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin (File|AP)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: All-rounder Ashwin Venkatraman who plays for Alwarpet CC in the TNCA senior division league has been named as captain of Dindigul Dragons in the second edition of TNPL which begins here on July 22.

Ace Indian spinner R Ashwin will not be available due to the Sri Lanka tour and thus Ashwin Venkataraman was named captain by the team management on Wednesday.

Ashwin, a right handed batsman and a medium pace bowler, has been playing for the Dindigul Dragons since last season. M Venkatramana will be the chief coach and he will be assisted by Guru Kedarnath.

All-round display by Akki

An all-round display by VP Akki Shravanth (112 no and 6/20) paved the way for AVM Rajeswari MHSS to thrash Dominic Savio by 186 runs in the TNCA city schools under-14 tournament for B Somasundaram Trophy.

In another match, Vidya Mandir’s Vijay Priyadarshan scored an unbeaten 79 to beat St John’s Matriculation Higher Secondary school, Villivakkam, by 48 runs. Achyuth scalped three wickets to restrict St John’s to 101.

Brief scores: PSBB SSS, Siruseri 106 in 28.4 ovs (MP Muthishwaran 3/23, Gokul Nath 3/15) lost to Govt HSS, Ashok Nagar 108 for no loss in 16.1 ovs (Bala 60 no). DAV SSS, Mogappair 220/6 in 30 ovs (Bhuvanesh Khanna 75 no) bt LA Chatelaine Jr College 28 in 11.3 ovs (H Pradeep 5/3, T Samuel 3/9).

St John’s PS 87/9 in 30 ovs (Bhavya Mehta 3/13, G Varun 3/13) lost to Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Kilpauk 89/3 in 20.2 ovs (Tanish Madhav 39 no, Varun 37 no). JG Hindu Vidyalaya Mat HSS 143/9 in 30 ovs (V Vishwa 3/20, SA Jitesh 3/29) bt Everwin Vidhyashram 31 in 9.5 ovs (Sriram 4/10). Doveton Boys HSS 61 in 19.4 ovs (Sethuraman 3/10, Nishank Gagoria 5/18) lost to Maharishi Vidya Mandir SSS 62/1 in 11.3 ovs.

Vidya Mandir SSS A 149/5 in 30 ovs (Vijay Priyadarsan 79 no) bt St John’s MHSS, Villivakkam 101 in 28.1 ovs (Achyuth 3/10). AVM Rajeswari MHSS 247/4 in 30 ovs (VP Akki Shravanth 112 no, Gowri Shankar 48) bt Dominic Savio MHSS 61 in 13 ovs (VP Akki Shravanth 6/20). PS SSS B 108 in 25.3 overs (Mohammed 5/21) lost to Sri Padma Sarangapani HSS 109/0 in 17.1 ovs (Ahmed Batsha 55 no, Devesh 41 no). Jawahar Vidyalaya SSS A 84 in 28 ovs (Jeeva 3/19, Karthik Manikandan 3/10) lost to Santhome HSS 85/5 in 24.5 ovs.

Jaya Jaya Sankara Int School 61 in 22.1 ovs (Shiva Balu 3/12) lost to DAV Public School, Velachery 62/2 in 10.4 ovs. Lalaji Mem Omega Int School 131/7 in 30 ovs (Vivek 47, Gadiraju Varma 3/14) bt BVM GL Bollineni Hillside SSS 125 in 29.3 ovs (Abiseck 3/30). Guru Shree Shantivijay Jain Vidhyalaya 65 in 21.2 ovs (Kumar 5/16, Srikanth 3/16) bt Bethany HSS, Mogappair West 64 in 16.3 ovs (Ranvir Mehta 6/23, LNC Vishal 3/6).

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp