ICC Women's ODI Championship: India eye 3-0 cleansweep of South Africa 

In the first two matches, opener Smriti Mandhana single-handedly batted the South Africans out of the contests.

Published: 09th February 2018 04:14 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th February 2018 04:14 PM   |  A+A-

Indian captain Mithali Raj (File | AP)


POTCHEFSTROOM (SOUTH AFRICA): With the three-match ODI series already in their kitty, the Indian women's cricket team will aim for a 3-0 whitewash of the South African eves when they face off in the third and final one-dayer, which is part of the ICC Women's ODI Championship here on Saturday.

In the first two matches, opener Smriti Mandhana single-handedly batted the South Africans out of the contests. Smriti, who struck 84 and a career-best 135 at Kimberley, would love to make it three in a row at Senwes Park.

However, her opening partner Poonam Raut has had a quiet series so far and would like to make amends.

At No.3 skipper Mithali Raj has got the starts but failed to convert them into big scores while the dangerous Harmanpreet Kaur and Veda Krishnamurthy were back among the runs in the second match, scoring unbeaten half centuries to push India to 302/3.

In the bowling department, India have troubled the hosts with both pace and spin, whether it was Jhulan Goswami in the series-opener or leggie Poonam Yadav in the second tie.

The other bowlers too have chipped in with valuable contributions.

Goswami, who became the first female cricketer to take 200 wickets in ODIs on Wednesday, would like to end the series on a high.

On the other hand, the hosts' would hope for a turn-around in fortunes as far as their batting department is concerned. They folded up for 125 and 124 while chasing in the first two games.

Besides, a solid 73 from opener Lizelle Lee, none of the batswomen have been able to make an impact. 

They would also be hoping for the bowlers to set things right and apply the brakes on the swashbuckling Indian middle order.

Mithali Raj (Captain), Taniya Bhatia (WK), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sushma Verma (WK), Poonam Yadav.

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (Captain), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty (WK), Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe and Zintle Mali.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp