India win the toss and elect to field against England in first ODI

For India, pacer Siddharth Kaul made his debut while England have included David Malan as a replacement for Alex Hales.

Published: 12th July 2018 05:04 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th July 2018 05:26 PM   |  A+A-

Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field first. (Photo | AP)


NOTTINGHAM: India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field against England in the first one-day international at Trent Bridge on Thursday.

England made one change, with opener Alex Hales ruled out of a match on his Nottinghamshire home ground due to a side strain suffered batting in the nets on Wednesday.

Jonny Bairstow was promoted to open alongside Jason Roy, while Test captain Joe Root -- left out of the side beaten by India as the tourists completed a 2-1 Twenty20 series win in Bristol last weekend -- was in the team at number three, with all-rounder Ben Stokes due to bat at number five.

India gave an ODI debut to Siddarth Kaul, a 28-year-old medium-pacer who has previously played two Twenty20 internationals.

"We've chased well in the T20 series and we're comfortable with the strength of our batting," said Kohli at the toss.

"Our wrist-spinners will play a big role in the middle overs and we bank on our bowlers to do the job. We're backing our strengths."

England captain Eoin Morgan added: "We'd like to have chased. It's a different challenge today though, the wicket looks good and we're looking forward to posting a big total. 

"With Alex Hales hurting himself in training, Joe Root moves up to number three and Ben Stokes gives a better balance to our side at number five."

This is the first of a three-match series that continues at Lord's on Saturday and concludes at Headingley on Tuesday. 

England's most recent ODI at Trent Bridge saw Hales make 147 in an all-time men's record total of 481 for six during a 242-run win against Australia on June 19.


England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt), Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Siddarth Kaul, Yuzvendra Chahal

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI), Tim Robinson (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp