Malolan dazzles in Vijay CC’s 116-run victory

Malolan Rangarajan’s five-for helped Vijay CC beat Young Stars by 116 runs in a TNCA senior division league match at SSN College grounds.

Published: 14th March 2018 02:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th March 2018 06:57 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

CHENNAI:Malolan Rangarajan’s five-for helped Vijay CC beat Young Stars by 116 runs in a TNCA senior division league match at SSN College grounds. Resuming with the overnight score of 99 for nine, Young Stars were folded for 101. In their second innings, Vijay CC’s below par performance kept them at bay and were bundled out for 72. S Mohan Prasath and S Swaminathan took five wickets each. Set a target of 191, Young Stars could only muster 74 in their second innings.

Vijay CC bagged eight points from the win. In another match, M Kaushik Gandhi smacked an unbeaten 205 and M Shahrukh Khan hit 183 for Jolly Rovers and declared at a mammoth 495 for five against CromBest. Gandhi and Shahrukh stitched 303-run partnership in 60.1 overs for the fourth wicket. At stumps, CromBest were 138 for three.

Brief scores: Elite Group: At SSN: Vijay CC 219 and 72 in 27.4 ovs (S Mohan Prasath 5/35, S Swaminathan 5/33) bt Young Stars 101 in 40.2 ovs (Rahil Shah 6/42, Malolan Rangarajan 3/40) & 74 in 21.2 ovs (Rahil Shah 4/32, Malolan Rangarajan 5/40). Points: Vijay 8;  Stars 0. At MRF– Pachaiyappa’s: Nelson 606/9 decl in 145.1 ovs (Shoaib Md Khan 121, S Karthik 117, Swapnil K Singh 101, M Sridhar Raj 54, R Srinivasan 50; S Radhakrishnan 3/82; Sunil Sam 3/125,  Ashwath Mukunthan 3/126) vs Globe Trotters 100/1 29 ovs. At CPT–IP: Grand Slam 402/9 decl in 144.3 ovs (Shubham Sharma 139, R Sathyanarayan 62, V Yo Mahesh 61, PS Raghul 58; M Prabhu 3/107) vs India Pistons 89/3 in 33 ovs. Plate

Group: At IIT–Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 495/5 decl in 90 ovs (M Kaushik Gandhi 205 n.o, M Shahrukh Khan 183) vs CromBest 138/3 in 57 ovs (Varun M Totadri 77). At TI–Murugappa: TI Cycles 276 vs  Alwarpet 289/7 in 90 ovs (B Rahul 77, Ashwin Venkataraman 69; R Sonu Yadav 3/79, R Sanjay Yadav 3/98). At MAC: AG’s Office 418 in 118.4 ovs (P Francis Rokins 99, R Rajkumar 61, S Dinesh 53; V. Arun Kumar 5/150) vs UFCC (T Nagar) 139/4 in 56 ovs (V Maaruthi Raghav 72 n.o)

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp