Five days to World Cup: Five-star Australia reign supreme

Although they won just one of the first six World Cups, they have since turned into an unstoppable force, winning four of the last five.

Published: 25th May 2019 05:57 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th May 2019 01:34 PM   |  A+A-

World Cup trophy

Will Australia add to their already impressive trophy cabinet? | Twitter@cricketworldcup

Online Desk

Despite a slow start, taking until the fourth edition to claim their first title and waiting for another 12 years before their second, Australia have since become an unstoppable force in the World Cup.

No team has won more World Cups than Australia, who have claimed four of the last five titles and become a ruthless juggernaut, mowing down all pretenders to the throne.

Five days before the start of World Cup 2019, here is a look at all of Australia's triumphs.

World Cup 1987

Despite having mercurial talents in the first couple of editions, it needed the leadership of Allan Border for them to claim their maiden World Cup title.

And it took a team effort to get there. Openers David Boon and Geoff Marsh finished as the second and third leading run-getters in the tournament while Craig McDermott finished as the leading wicket-taker with 18.

ALSO READ | 87 days to go: Australia rises again under Border

It was a close affair in the semi-final and the final but they got over the line against England at Eden Gardens to claim their maiden title.

World Cup 1999

It took 12 more years before Australia would taste World Cup success but this was far more convincing than the previous win but not without a huge slice of luck.

Even though they finished second in their group, they lost to the two other teams that qualified for the Super Six stage. From there onwards, it was smooth sailing until the semi-final as they beat India, Zimbabwe and South Africa in convincing fashion.

In the semi-final, South Africa somehow managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory and the game ended in a tie but Australia progressed before their one-sided win over Pakistan in the final as Shane Warne spun a web around the Men in Green.

World Cup 2003

If the previous two World Cups were a fair fight, this was the start of Australia's incredible domination. And they managed that without arguably the best bowler in the world in Shane Warne.

Despite not having the leading run-getter or leading wicket-taker in their side, Australia won all of their 11 matches and sailed through the tournament to become the first side to win three World Cups.

World Cup 2007

Just when it seemed as though Australia couldn't top what they did in 2003, they proceeded to do just that. And this time they did so from start to finish by dominating every aspect of the game.

Matthew Hayden finished as the leading run-scorer, while Glenn McGrath walked away with the most wickets in the tournament and also the Man of the Series.

ALSO READ | 26 days to World Cup: Glenn McGrath signs off with another world record

At the end of it all, Australia stormed to their third successive World Cup title, their fourth overall and also extended their unbeaten streak in the competition to 29.

World Cup 2015

After their incredible streak was ended in 2011, Australia bounced back at home to make it a five-star effort in 2015.

Although the Aussies got off to a slow start, winning just one of their first three games, they got back on track in sensational style.

They won the next six games -- three in the group, then three in the knockout stages -- culminating in an embarrassingly one-sided final against the Kiwis.

Stay up to date on all the latest World Cup Countdown news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp