Junior Indian men's hockey team take part in six-week national camp

The group will work on important aspects of the game like their speed, agility, skill and understanding of the game.

Published: 12th September 2017 12:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th September 2017 12:35 PM   |  A+A-

Indian Junior hockey players (File | PTI)


LUCKNOW: Ahead of next month's 7th Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia, a 37-member junior men's hockey team on Monday reported at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) centre to take part in the six-week national coaching camp here.

During the course of the camp, selection trials will be conducted under the purview of Hockey India's (HI) Director, High Performance, David John and junior men's team head coach Jude Felix, to pick the 18-member squad for the Sultan of Johor Cup, from October 22-29.

The group will work on important aspects of the game like their speed, agility, skill and understanding of the game along with team play, keeping in mind the 2020 junior World Cup where the team will be defending their coveted crown.

"We have worked very hard in identifying the junior men's core group in the past few months to carry on our development process which has given us a strong pool of players who can represent the country at the biggest stage," John said in a statement.

"We believe that these players have the attributes required to go on and compete in India in future international tournaments. Our main focus right now is to train them and select the best to play at the 7th Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia next month under the guidance of coach Jude Felix," he added.

Junior Men Core Probables:

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Tanuj Gulia, Prashant Kumar Chauhan, A.S. Sentamizh Arasu.

Defenders: Suman Beck, Harmanjit Singh, Mandeep Mor, Mohd. Faraz, Prince, Pratap Lakra.

Midfielders: Varinder Singh, Sunny Malik, Vishal Antil, Yashdeep Siwach, Vishal Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Akshay Avasthi, Sukhjeet Singh, Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem, Dinachandra Singh Moirangthem.

Forwards: Shilanand Lakra, Jai Prakash Patel, Dilpreet Singh, Mohd. Saif Khan, Raushan Kumar, Abhishek, Shivam Anand, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar, Mohd. Alishan, Sanjay, Maninder Singh, Rahul, Anand Kumar Bara, Rahul Shinde, Venkatesh Kenche, Kishore Arya, Iktidar Ishrat.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.