Sushmith Sriram and Reeth Rishya table toppers in state-ranking table tennis tournament

The winner received Rs10,000, while runner-up took home Rs 7,500.S Ramakrishnan IRS, Additional Director General, Income Tax,  gave away the prizes.

Published: 11th June 2018 02:10 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th June 2018 02:10 AM   |  A+A-

Winners of the state-ranking table tennis tournament on Sunday.

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Sushmith Sriram of MVM won the men’s title after beating Nithin Thiruvengadam of Jawahar Club 4-1 in the final of the state-ranking table tennis tournament, held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Sunday.

T Reeth Rishya of IOC won the women’s crown by routing Seraha Jacob of CTTF 4-0. The winner received Rs10,000, while runner-up took home Rs 7,500. S Ramakrishnan IRS, Additional Director General, Income Tax,  gave away the prizes. For the first time all the winners’ coaches were awarded Rs 3,000.

Results: (All finals): Men: Singles: Sushmit Sriram (MVM) bt Nithin Thiruvengadam (Jawahar) 11-5, 11-4, 11-7, 4-11, 15-13. Boys: Youth: D Ananth (Ransa) bt Nithin Narayanan (CTTF) 11-4, 13-15, 11-5, 11-7, 11-7. Junior: S Karthikeyan (RTTA) bt Sriram Kannan (Ch. Achrs) 8-11, 15-13, 8-11, 11-7, 11-5, 10-12, 11-4.

Sub-juniors: D Vishwa (KTTC) bt AP Roopan Santhosh (MVM) 7-11, 11-5, 11-3, 11-8, 11-7. Cadet: MR Balamurugan (Vin Win) bt PB Abhinand 11-6, 11-2, 11-2.

Mini-cadet: Siddharath (Vin Win) bt Guru Sanjith (MST) 11-8, 11-6, 11-5. Women: T Reeth Rishya (IOC) bt Seraha Jacob (CTTF) 11-8, 11-8, 11-4, 11-8.

Girls: Youth: Abhinaya Ramesh (GVG Udumalapet) bt Sharmitha (MVM) 11-9, 11-2, 11-6, 11-4.

Juniors: Sharmitha (MVM) bt M Nithyashree (Ch. Achrs) 11-5, 11-13, 11-9, 11-9, 11-3.

Sub-juniors: Hrithika (LTTA) bt B Kavyashree (ENTTA) 11-3, 11-4, 4-11, 11-2, 15-17, 11-8.

Cadet: Shriya Anand (Jawahar) bt Sharwani (LTTA) 14-12, 13-11, 11-7.

Mini-cadet: Hansini (MST) bt BR Nandhini (Mt VLR) 10-12, 11-5, 11-8, 11-5. Veterans Singles: Srivatsa Chakravarthy bt J Jaikumar 11-8, 11-4, 11-3.

Venkatesh comes to fore

Venkatesh’s 4/20 paved the way for Prahlad CC A to thrash Guru Nanak College A by nine wickets in the 49th All India YSCA Trophy.

Brief scores: Guru Nanak College A 63/9 in 16.5 ovs (Shankar 41; Venkatesh 4/20) lost to Prahlad CC A 64/1 in16.5 ovs (Sureshkumar 38). SPIC RC 213/6 in 30 ovs (Saravanan 42, Madhavan 26, Harikrishnan 34, Surendar 49 n.o, Surya 41; Vasu 3/41) bt Sri Lokadayaksha Builders 176 in 29.3 ovs (Chiranjeevi 69,  Mithun 46; Selvakumaran 4/42).Guru Nanak College B 153 in 29 ovs (Hariharan 59, Dilip 42; Kumar 4/21) lost to Brindavan CC 154/6 in 27.2 ovs (Kumar 39, Sai Kishore 29; Sashang 3/29).

Double podium for Chennai
Chennai youngster KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) and Anish Damodar Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) from Hubballi, Karnataka, scored a double apiece in their respective classes on Sunday as the Rolon Round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2018 concluded in Coimbatore. Mathana Kumar from Chennai (Honda Ten10 Racing) finished third in the SuperSport Indian 165cc category.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp