Anish comes to fore for Tirupur DCA in Dicky Memorial Trophy

Tirupur District Cricket Association beat Prahlad Cricket Academy by three wickets in an Under-14 match of the Dicky Memorial Trophy, played at St Bede’s grounds.

Published: 09th May 2018 04:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2018 04:00 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Riding on GP Anish Vishagan’s four-wicket haul (4/24), Tirupur District Cricket Association beat Prahlad Cricket Academy by three wickets in an Under-14 match of the Dicky Memorial Trophy, played at St Bede’s grounds.

Brief scores: Prahlad Cricket Academy 106/9 in 30 ovs (J Aashef 42, GP Anish Vishagan 4/24) lost to Tirupur DCA 107/7 in 27 ovs (KTA Madava Prasad 32). MoM: KTA Madava Prasad. Elite CA 173/4 in 30 ovs (Kavin 47, Jayant 46) bt WGCA 76 in 28.2 ovs (Harsh 3/6). MoM: Kavin 47. Coimbatore DCA 79 in 29.5 ovs lost to FSCA 80/2 in 20.3 ovs (Thirunarayanan 44 n.o). MoM: Thirunarayanan. Kedar Cricket Academy 181/7 in 30 ovs (Kamalesh Venkat 32, Amaresh 44 n.o) bt Trichy DCA 152/8 in 30 ovs (A Shackleton 70 n.o). MoM: Amaresh.

Future Star thrash Ace CA

SR Aathish hit 89 runs to help Future Star CA thrash Ace CA by 151 runs in the Under-15 category of the Gen Next Royal Rumble tournament, held at RKM grounds.

Brief scores: Under-13: Asiatic Transformers 105/9 in 20 ovs (Abhinayan 31, Krishna Navik 28, Camerer 3/9) bt Kreeda SF 52 in 14.3 ovs (Varun 3/10). MoM: Varun. Under-15: Future Stars CA 254/8 in 20 ovs (SR Aathish 89, Yovani Gabriel 39, Atitya 25, Abhinav 34) bt Ace CA 103 in 17.3 ovs (Sudharshan 35, Ganesh Aravind 31) MoM: SR Aathish.

VMFC-Disha champions

VMFC (Veluswamy Mudialiyar Football Club)–Disha Sports Academy emerged triumphant in the CFA Second Division League. The successful season, during which they went on a ten-match unbeaten run, means they will play in the First Division next year. Ganesh top-scored with seven goals.

Rafi shines for Pattabiram

Rafique Mohammed Rafi’s three wickets (3/3) enabled Pattabiram CA to beat United CC by 13 runs in a TNCA-Thiruvallur District Cricket Association, Second Division match. Meanwhile, Mugappair CC beat Thiruvallur CC by 20 runs. U Rubesh hit 46 runs for the winners.

Brief scores: II Division: Mugappair CC 197/9 in 30 ovs (U Rubesh 46, P Lithish Kumar 3/51, S Hareshwaran 3/30) bt Thiruvallur CC 177/7 in 30 ovs (D Rajesh 67, R Rajagiri 3/41). Pattabiram CA 132/9 in 30 ovs (V Tharun Kumar 3/27) bt United CC 119 in 27.3 ovs (Dinesh Antony KD 43, B Haresh 4/45, Rafique Mohammed Rafi 3/3).

Cricket tournament

The Harrington Cricket Academy will be organising a round-robin league tournament for coaching academies and clubs from May 14. The tournament will be 30-overs-a-side format. The final will be a 45-overs-a side contest. Matches will be held at Reddy’s Medavakkam and MN Greens grounds. Entries close on May 12. Contact: 9444012725.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp