Ex-minister elected APCO chief

Published: 26th February 2013 10:10 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th February 2013 10:10 AM   |  A+A-

Former minister M Hanumantha Rao was elected chairman of APCO at its office in Narayanaguda here on Monday evening.

Congress finalised Hanumantha Rao’s name after day-long deliberations among ministers Pitani Satyanarayana, S Shailajanath, G Prasad Kumar and others.

DL Ravindra Reddy, who was not happy with the party’s choice of candidate, fielded Gajjela Srinivas, but Hanumantha Rao won the election hands down.

He polled 19 votes, while Srinivas could get only five.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp