Parties Sweat It Out at Night as T Nominations Close Today

Cong rejigs list to accommodate T leaders even as protests rock the party; BJP releases first list of candidates; TDP finalises second list; YSRC jumps into fray in 79 Assembly, 13 LS segments

Published: 09th April 2014 09:37 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th April 2014 09:39 AM   |  A+A-


With Wednesday being the last date for filing of nominations in Telangana, all the major parties finally got into the act on Tuesday. If the Congress slightly amended its list, replacing three candidates with leaders who played an active part in the T struggle, the BJP released its first list of candidates for 21 Assembly and seven Lok Sabha seats late in the night. The TDP too finalised its second list for 18 Assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat.

The YSRC, though it has no presence in the region, came out with a list of candidates for 79 Assembly and 13 Lok Sabha constituencies. The MIM, which is looking to expand its base in Telangana, also announced candidates for one Lok Sabha and nine Assembly seats. Earlier in the day, the Congress, which drew flak for ignoring those who had taken part in the Telangana movement in its list of candidates for 111 Assembly seats announced Monday, accommodated Gajjela Kantham, Addanki Dayakar and Katti Venkataswamy for Secunderabad Cantonment, Tungaturthi and Narasmapet respectively apparently at the behest of party president Sonia Gandhi and vice-president Rahul Gandhi.

Though their names were cleared Monday itself, for some reason, they did not figure in the list and instead, contained the names of D Madhava Reddy (Narasampet), Gudipathi Naraisaha (Tungaturthi) and Krishank (Secunderabad Cantonment). But the damage control was just one part of the Congress story. The day began with furious leaders, who couldn’t get party tickets, converging on the Gandhi Bhavan, the party headquarters. Raising slogans against TPCC chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah, the protestors tried to storm the building. Ponnala had to face their ire at his residence too.

Pinapaka MLA Rega Kantha Rao rushed to Ponnala’s house and picked up an argument with him. He was upset as the party “sacrificed” his seat as part of the seat-sharing agreement with the CPI. “I have been taught a good lesson for staying with the Congress,” he rued and later quit the party when Ponnala kept in abeyance his appointment as incharge of Khammam District Congress Committee, allegedly at the behest of Rajya Sabha member Renuka Chowdary.

The TRS, on the other hand, had a peaceful day. Party chief K Chandrasekhar Rao and his daughter and Telangana Jagruthi president K Kavitha figured in the list of candidates released Tuesday. As already reported in these columns, KCR will be in the fray in Medak Lok Sabha constituency and Kavitha in Nizamabad.

Interestingly, CPM leader and former MLA N Narasimhaiah donned the TRS colours and was immediately rewarded with party ticket for Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency. His induction is being seen as a tactical move to defeat Congress leader Jana Reddy on his home turf.

vanama triggers protests in ysrc

Trouble erupted in YSRC in Kothagudem with district Cong president Vanama Venkateswara Rao joining the party on Tuesday. One activist jumped from the party constituency incharge A Krishna’s house. Vanama’s entry has rattled Krishna, an aspirant for the party ticket from the constituency. His wife Susheela reportedly attempted suicide in protest against Vanama’s induction into YSRC.

Protests in Cong Camp

AP Mahila Cong president Akula Lalitha and another leader Sudha Lakshmi, protest at TPCC chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah’s residence seeking nomination for Nizamabad Urban and Rajendranagar Assembly seats.

Renuka storms into  Ponnala’s residence protesting “unfair” deal for Lambadas

T leaders get it

T leaders Gajjela Kantham (Secunderabad Cantonment), A Dayakar (Tungaturthy) and Katti Venkataswamy (Narasampet) accommodated at the behest of party chief Sonia Gandhi and V-P Rahul Gandhi.


A cursory glance at who is in the fray and where  in the big battle ahead in Telangana

Ch Vidyasagar Rao has been fielded from Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency while Bandaru Dattatreya is in the fray in Secunderabad and Nagam Janardhan Reddy in Mahbubnagar. NVVS Prabhakar has been fielded from Uppal Assembly segment

R Krishnaiah set to test his luck in LB Nagar Assembly constituency while Motkupally Narsimhulu is said to be in the fray in Madira,

E Dayakar Rao in Palakurthi and Revanth Reddy in Kodangal. Their names have reportedly been finalised late Tuesday night

TRS: Announced candidates for 109 Assembly and 16 Lok Sabha seats. Party chief K Chandrasekhar Rao will file his nomination today for Medak Lok Sabha constituency



Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp