YSRC MLA Mustafa Injured in Attack by TDP Workers

4 YSRC MPTCs kidnapped to ensure victory to TD-supported MPP candidate at Muppala

Published: 14th July 2014 08:18 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th July 2014 08:18 AM   |  A+A-


GUNTUR:  YSRCP Guntur-East MLA Mustafa and party leader Ambati Rambabu sustained injuries when a mini bus in which they were travelling was pelted with stones by alleged TDP activists, near Medikonduru, about 18 km from Guntur city, Sunday.

The incident took place when the YSRCP leaders were going to Muppala along with seven MPTC members of their party in Muppala mandal for election to the post of Mandal Parishad president (MPP).

After attacking the mini bus, the TDP activists forcibly took away four MPTCs, including three women members, to see that the TDP-supported candidate would win the Muppala MPP post.

Speaking to mediapersons after the attack, Mustafa said that the TDP activists had waylaid and attacked their convoy indiscriminately and took away four YSRCP MPTC members with them forcibly. The MLA broke down before the media while explaining how they were  attacked.

He added that the TDP activists kidnapped four MPTC members - Annavarapu Sunitha, B Rajani Priya, Paladugu Sarojani and P Sivakoteswara Rao.

Party spokesperson Ambati Rambabu alleged that the TDP activists at the behest of Sattenapalli MLA and Assembly speaker Kodela Siva Prasad had resorted to the heinous act and criticised the district police and DGP J V Ramudu for not providing security despite several requests to them.

Meanwhile, hundreds of vehicles were stranded on the Guntur-Hyderabad road as YSRCP activists staged a dharna in protest against the incident.

A tense situation prevailed at the place for a few hours.

Parrty leaders Ayodhya Rami Reddy and MLA G Srinivasa Reddy met MLA Mustafa and enquired about his condition.

YSRCP sources said that party chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy had enquired about the incident.

When contacted, Guntur Urban SP Gopinath Jetti said that a case was registered. He said the police had no information of the travel programme of YSRCP leaders. Meanwhile, the TDP has won the Muppala MPP post. Party member and Dammalapadu MPTC Ch Umadevi was unanimously elected MPP as YSRCP MPTCs failed to attend the election.

Though one of the four kidnapped MPTCs attended the polls, he had supported the TDP candidate.

TDP won five MPTCs and YSRCP seven in the MPTC elections. Though the election of the MPP was to be conducted on July 4, it was postponed to July 13 following a dispute.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp