KCR to Be Sworn in Telangana State's First CM on June 2

The Telangana CM-designate has fixed the 12.57 p.m. time for his coronation as per the advice of priests to suit his lucky number ‘six’.

Published: 24th May 2014 08:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th May 2014 12:06 PM   |  A+A-


HYDERABAD: TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao will be sworn in as the first chief minister of the Telangana state at the Raj Bhavan here at 12.57 pm on June 2, the day when the new state will be born. Rao, a staunch believer in astrology, numerology and Vaastu, is learnt to have fixed this time for his coronation as per the advice of priests to suit his lucky number ‘six’.

Though there is no official word from the TRS on how many MLAs/MLCs will take oath along with Rao on June 2 as members of his cabinet, sources say that six or 15 MLAs, including KCR, are likely to be sworn in as ministers to match his lucky number six. Rao will expand his cabinet at a later date.

After finalising the time, date and venue of his swearing- in, the TRS chief Rao called on governor ESL Narasimhan at the Raj Bhavan on Friday evening and informed him about the date and time of his oath-taking. He is also understood to have submitted a list of the names of MLAs/MLCs who will be sworn in as ministers.

According to highly placed sources, the TRS chief has been considering MLC Mahmood Ali for the deputy chief minister’s post to keep his promise of making a leader from minority communities his deputy in the new state. Ali hails from the old city of Hyderabad. Koppula Eshwar (Dharmapuri), an SC, is also said to be under the consideration for the same post.

As far as ministerial berths are concerned, Rao’s senior colleague Nayani Narasimha Reddy is expected to be made home minister and Etela Rajender (Huzurabad) finance minister. In case Rao inducts Narasimha Reddy into the cabinet, he has to ensure his entry into the Assembly or Council within six months as Reddy is not an MLA/MLC now.

The name of former minister Jupally Krishna Rao (Kollapur) is said to be under consideration for the post of minister of civil supplies and that of another former minister Konda Surekha (Warangal East) for the post of women and child welfare.

For the post of health minister T Rajaiah (Station Ghanpur) and Ch Lakshma Reddy (Jadcherla) are being considered. Suryapet MLA G Jagadish Reddy, a trusted lieutenant of the pink party chief, is being considered for panchayat raj minister’s post, it is learnt.

The TRS chief is understood to be leaning towards selecting either Telangana Gazetted Officers’ Association leader V Srinivas Goud (Mahbubnagar) or MLC K Swamy Goud for the post of labour minister, and former minister and senior- most party legislator Pocharam Srinivas Reddy (Banswada) for the post of rural development minister or speaker’s position.

Though there is no clarity on what roles Rao’s son KT Rama Rao (Siricilla) and nephew T Harish Rao (Siddipet) will play in the new state, some say that the TRS boss is planning to accommodate both of them in the cabinet. In such a scenario, KTR might be entrusted with the department of major industries and information technology, and Harish with power, agriculture and irrigation.

Probable Ministers

Mahmood Ali, Koppula Eshwar, N Narasimha Reddy, Etela Rajender, Jupally Krishna Rao, Konda Surekha T Rajaiah or Ch Lakshma Reddy, G Jagadish Reddy, V Srinivas Goud or K Swamy Goud, P Srinivas Reddy, KT Rama Rao T Harish Rao

KCR to Attend Modi Coronation

TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao is likely to leave for Delhi on May 25 to attend the swearingin by Narendra Modi as prime minister at 6 pm on May 26. He will host a dinner for MPs and other leaders of his party at his residence in Delhi on May 25.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp