Andhra Pradesh Assembly starts today, Governor address on June 14

On June 13, the Assembly will formally elect senior legislator Tammineni Sitaram from Srikakulam as the Speaker of the House. 

Published: 12th June 2019 08:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th June 2019 08:14 AM   |  A+A-

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

By Express News Service

VIJAYAWADA: The first session of the AP Legislative Assembly after the formation of the Jagan Mohan Reddy government will commence at 11.05 a.m Wednesday. Protem Speaker Sambangi China Appala Naidu will administer oath to the newly-elected members. 

The new Assembly came into being last month after the general elections. The YSR Congress won 151 of the total 175 seats in the House.

The Telugu Desam Party,  (TDP), which was in power last time, had to be content with just 23 MLAs now. The Jana Sena, which made electoral debut, won one seat.

The session will be held for five working days.

Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy will take oath first followed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who has been elected leader of Telugu Desam Legislature Party (TDLP). Naidu will become the Leader of the Opposition. Later, all the remaining members will take oath. 

On June 13, the Assembly will formally elect senior legislator Tammineni Sitaram from Srikakulam as the Speaker of the House. 

Governor  E S L Narasimhan will address the joint Session of the Assembly and Council on June 14. While  June 15 and 16 are holidays,  the members will speak on the motion of thanks to the Governor’s address on June 17 and 18. Meanwhile, G Srikanth Reddy, who has been appointed  Government Chief Whip in the Assembly, said that the government is committed to running the Assembly in a democratic manner. 

“Unlike the previous government and former Speaker, we will conduct the session of the Legislative Assembly in a dignified manner,” he said, taking a dig at the TDP.  “We will respect the Opposition and give enough opportunity to speak in the House. Of course, the previous government violated the rights of the Opposition and even made a mockery of democracy by ridiculing the Opposition parties in the House without allocating proper chambers. But, our government will give equal priority to all parties,’’ he maintained. 

It may be recalled that the YSRC, when in Opposition, had boycotted the Assembly since the winter session in 2017. The boycott was to protest against inaction of the Speaker against 23 YSRC MLAs who had “defected” to the TDP.

Five-day session 
June 12: Oath of office of all elected members 
June 13:  Assembly to formally elect Tammineni Sitaram from Srikakulam as Speaker 
June 14: Governor  E S L Narasimhan to address joint session of Assembly and Council 

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp