Municipal Election Results Today - The New Indian Express

Municipal Election Results Today

Published: 12th May 2014 08:54 AM

Last Updated: 12th May 2014 08:54 AM

Counting of votes for urban local bodies--10 municipal corporations, and 145 municipalities and Nagar Panchayats--would be taken up on May 12, ahead of the counting of votes for Lok Sabha and Assembly on May 16.

The Andhra Pradesh State Election Commission (SEC) has made arrangements for counting for municipal bodies on Monday, followed by MPTCs and ZPTCs on May 13. The much-delayed municipal body, MPTC and ZPTC polls were held ahead of general elections, in March and April, but the counting of votes has been deferred. The municipal election were held on March 30.

State Election Commissioner P Ramakanth Reddy said counting will begin at 8 am at 155 counting centres at about 65 locations across the state and results would be announced on the same day as polling was conducted using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Of the 19 municipal corporations in the state, 10 went to polls on March 30. Elections were held to all the 513 municipal wards as no candidate was elected unanimously.

Out of the 162 municipalities in the State, 145 went to polls, where candidates were elected unanimously for 39 wards and polls were held for 3,931 wards.

Elections to Banganpally municipality were not held due to stay orders from the court.

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook