Three for Cong, 2 for TDP; All Eyes are on 6th RS Seat - The New Indian Express

Three for Cong, 2 for TDP; All Eyes are on 6th RS Seat

Published: 14th January 2014 10:36 AM

Last Updated: 14th January 2014 10:36 AM

With the announcement of schedule for the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha, political activity has intensified in Congress and TDP, which are sure of comfortably securing three and two seats each, out of the six for which polls will be held in the state.

Those members whose term is ending now have begun efforts to get another term, whereas others, who are not sure of winning the ensuing general elections, are trying to enter the Upper House.

However, it will be difficult to predict the outcome of the remaining one seat, for which no party has the required numerical strength.

Of the six seats, five are represented by Congress one by TDP now. The five Congress members who are retiring are: KVP Ramachandra Rao, Mohmed Ali Khan, Nandi Yellaiah, T Subbirami Reddy and T Ratna Bai.

The sixth seat has fallen vacant because of the recent resignation of TDP member N Harikrishna in protest against Centre’s decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.

As each member needs 39 votes to win the election, Congress can hope to win three seats, whereas TDP can secure two. 

For the remaining seat, TRS, YSRC and MIM will play a key role as the Congress strength in the Assembly has come down from 155 to 146.

TRS and YSRC have 17 members each and the MIM has 7. The BJP has 4 seats, CPI 3, CPM 1, Lok Satta 1 and there are 3 independents.

For the three seats which the Congress can win comfortably, KVP Ramachandra Rao and MA Khan are likely to be renominated because as they have done only one term in the Rajya Sabha so far. Interestingly, T Subbirami Reddy is also keen to get his membership renewed. Until recently, he was interested in contesting the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Visakhapatnam seat. However, he has reportedly dropped the plan in the wake of the dwindling electoral prospects of the Congress in Seemandhra following its T decision.

A couple of Union ministers from Seemandhra are also said to be opting for the Rajya Sabha route as they fear certain defeat in the general polls.

Meanwhile, YSRC is said to be planning to field its candidate for one seat as it has an official strength of 17 MLAs, while another six legislators are also sailing with it, taking the effective strength to 23. Hoping for cross-voting from the Congress in the wake of Centre’s T decision, the YSRC is said to be considering MV Mysoora Reddy’s candidature for the seat.

Upper House Election Advanced

As the general elections are likely to be announced in the last week of February, Election Commissioner HS Brahma has advanced the Rajya Sabha polls to February 7. Announcing the polling scheduled on Monday, the Election Commission said it will hold elections to 55 seats falling vacant in the states of Maharastra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Rajasthan and Meghalaya.

With the announcement of scheduled for Rajya Sabha polls, the Congress high command is likely to get another headache in already volatile Andhra Pradesh.

The Election Commision has said Lok Sabha elections will be held in five or six phases and the dates will most probably be announced in the last week of February.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt