Seven Telangana Congress MPs stage protest - The New Indian Express

Seven Telangana Congress MPs stage protest

Published: 23rd November 2012 09:24 AM

Last Updated: 23rd November 2012 09:27 AM

On the first day of the winter session of Parliament in New Delhi on Thursday, the Congress high command had to face an embarrassing situation for its indecisiveness over Telangana issue.

Defying their party’s diktat, seven Congress MPs from the Telangana did not attend the House in protest against their party leadership’s dilly-dallying over according statehood to their region.

The MPs _ Ponnam Prabhakar, Manda Jagannadham, Gutta Sukhender Reddy, Madhu Yaskhi Goud, Komatireddy Rajgopal Reddy, G Vivekanand and Siricilla Rajaiah _ even staged a sit-in at the main entrance of Parliament House, demanding creation of a separate state.

They shouted slogans in support of their demand and staged a sit-in for around 30 minutes just before the House met on the opening day of the winter session.

They even demanded that a bill be introduced in the winter session.

The MPs also carried placards which read ‘Delay is denial of Telangana’ and ‘Implement UPA’s promise of formation of Telangana state’.


When the MPs were staging the dharna, Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Lalu Prasad Yadav patted them on their back and extended his support for their demand for a separate Telangana state.

Speaking to reporters later, Ponnam, Manda and Gutta made it clear that they would continue their protest demonstrations in front of the Parliament House

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt