Karnataka: BSY fields rebel candidate in RS poll

In a move to maintain pressure on BJP leadership, the former CM fielded his loyalist Puttaswamy for the March 30 poll.

Published: 19th March 2012 06:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 06:38 PM   |  A+A-

BANGALORE: Basavaraj Patil Sedam and R Ramakrishna (BJP), K Rahman Khan (Congress) and independent Rajeev Chandrashekhar filed nomination papers for the March 30 Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka, but "rebel" candidate propped by B S Yeddyurappa gave a dramatic twist to the poll process today.

The last minute entry by Yeddyurappa loyalist B J Puttaswamy hotted up the election scene on the last day of filing nominations for four seats, with the move being seen as the Karnataka BJP strongman's plot to maintain pressure on the central leadership to reinstate him as Chief Minister.

Puttaswamy, who served Yeddyurappa as Political Secretary to the Chief Minister and continued in the position under his successor D V Sadananda Gowda as well, also announced that he has resigned from the post.

"I am the third official candidate of the BJP", he said, adding, he has filed nomination with the signature of 10 MLAs.

He claimed he would submit b-form tomorrow.

As Yeddyurappa renewed his bid to regain his post by exerting pressure on the central leadership through a sizeable section of MLAs and MPs, the move to field Puttaswamy is seen in some quarters as "bargaining ploy" to step up the pressure.

Earlier today,BJP's two official candidates - Ramakrishna,a retired IAS officer and the party's central election convener and Sedam,a former state unit president - filed nominations, as also Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha Rahman Khan.

Chandrashekhar, backed by BJP and JDS last time around, filed his papers in the company of senior JDS leader H D Revanna. JDS has 26 MLAs in the Assembly. He was expected to get "surplus votes" from BJP but if Puttaswamy remains in the fray, calculations may go wrong.

In the 224-member House, BJP has 120 MLAs, including the Speaker, while Congress has 71. A winner needs a minimum of 46 votes which ideally means candidates of these two parties can win easily. The Assembly also has seven independents,including one supporting the BJP.

The Rajya Sabha members from Karnataka retiring on Apr 2 are Hema Malini, K B Shanappa, Rahman Khan and Chandrashekhar.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp