One more BJP MLA quits Assembly

Published: 02nd February 2013 07:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd February 2013 08:57 AM   |  A+A-


BJP MLA Tarikere Suresh, a B S Yeddyurappa loyalist, submitted his resignation from the Assembly on Friday. He is the 14th MLA to resign.

The resignations of Suresh and Vittal Katakadona are now pending with Speaker K G Bopaiah for acceptance.

Katakadonda’s resignation was not accepted on technical grounds when he submitted it with 12 other MLAs on Tuesday.

If both resignations are accepted, the strength of the ruling BJP in the Assembly will come down to 106 including independent MLA Varthur Prakash, nominated member Derrick Fullinfaw and Speaker Bopaiah. In the 225 member Assembly, Congress has 71 MLAs, JD(S) 26, independents 6 and 14 seats are vacant.

If four more MLAs resign Jagadish Shettar’s government will be reduced to a minority and he will have to depend on the support of either independents or JD(S) members to realise his wish to present his maiden budget on February 8.

Suresh had to go all the way to Madikeri to hand over his resignation as Bopaiah was not at the headquarters. He was accompanied by former MLA B P Harish.

Bopaiah however said that he would decide on Suresh’s resignation after returning to Bangalore on Monday.

Suresh was one of the 13 BJP MLAs who made a vain bid to resign on January 23. However, he could not accompany the 12 MLAs who resigned on Tuesday as he had been to Shirdi on a pilgrimage.

Earlier in the day, Suresh had been to the Speaker’s office at Vidhana Soudha to submit his resignation. Since the latter was not in office, he left his resignation with the Assembly secretary Omprakash, although Omprakash refused to accept it stating that he had no powers to do so.

“I am resigning as I want to join the KJP led by Yeddyurappa and work to strengthen it,” Suresh announced.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp