MLA migration to hit BJP the hardest

Published: 19th February 2013 08:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th February 2013 08:14 AM   |  A+A-

Karnataka politics is all set to witness “a first-of-its-kind” political migration in the run-up to the Assembly elections.

Around 30 MLAs, including over  half a dozen ministers in the Jagadish Shettar Cabinet, have decided to quit their parties in search of greener pastures.

While the ruling BJP appeared to be the biggest casualty of this migration as a majority of the MLAs who are ready to switch sides are from this party, the Congress  and the KJP appeared to be the beneficiaries of this phenomenon.

Ministers Narasimha Naik (Raju Gouda), Anand Asnotikar, V Somanna, B N Bachchegowda, C P Yogeshwar, Basavaraj Bommai, Murugesh Nirani, M P  Renukacharya and Umesh Katti have reportedly decided to quit BJP soon after the Assembly elections are announced.

Interestingly, barring Nirani and Renukacharya, the rest joined the BJP either just before the 2008 elections or after the elections under “Operation  Lotus”.

While Rajugouda, Asnotikar, Somanna, Bachchegowda and Yogeshwar are keen to join the Congress, Bommai, Nirani and Renukacharya are expected to join the KJP led by former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa. There is no clarity which way Katti would go, though he is being vehemently persuaded by Yeddyurappa, who thinks  that his entry would give a solid-base to his party in Belgaum district.

On its part, the Congress is not keen to accommodate and give tickets to whoever wants to join it.

As of now only Rajugouda’s name is said to have been cleared by the Congress high command.

In Somanna’s case, the Congress is keen to induct him provided he chooses to contest from a constituency other than the Govindarajnagar and Vijayanagar constituencies where he has the clout. Somanna is yet to take a call on this.

Apart from the ministers, BJP MLAs Shankaralingegowda, C C Patil, Lakshman Savadi, S V Ramachandra and Shrishailappa Bidarar are expected to quit BJP.  While Gowda has already announced that he would join the JD(S), the rest are likely to join Yeddyurappa.

Sources in the Yeddyurappa camp, however, claim that the number of MLAs joining them would easily cross 30.

Even Independent MLAs are keen to contest Assembly elections on a party ticket. According to sources, five of the seven Independents have approached the  Congress.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp