Bidar throws up interesting picture

Published: 03rd May 2013 11:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd May 2013 11:14 AM   |  A+A-

Bidar district, with a mix of Kannada, Marathi and Telugu speaking people, throws up an interesting picture in the elections. While Congress and the JD(S) had some constituencies in the past, the entry of the KJP is making the electoral battle interesting this time.


It looks like a direct contest between present MLA Rahim Khan of Congress and former MLA Gurupadappa Nagamarapally of KJP in Bidar city. Nagamarapally won in the 2008 Assembly elections, but resigned as MLA to contest the Parliamentary elections in 2009 and lost.

Former president of Bidar CMC Ramesh Pande, a former MLA, is also in the fray as the BJP candidate.

Bidar South

JD(S) leader Bandeppa Kashampur, who is considered the right hand of JD(S) state  president H D Kumaraswamy, is facing a stiff competition from NICE chairman Ashok Kheny in Bidar South.

Kheny is contesting from his own political outfit Karnataka Makkala Paksha. He is using all his resources to woo voters. The highlights are that in Bidar, Anilkumar, son of Gundappa Vakil, is contesting on a BSR Congress ticket while in Bidar South, his sister Meenakshi Sangram is contesting on a Congress ticket.


Bhalki is all set to witness the ‘battle of the Khandres’. Sitting MLA Eshwar Khandre of Congress has locked horns with Prakash Khandre of BJP. Prakash was the MLA from 1999 to 2004 and from 2004 to 2008. In 2008, Eshwar defeated Prakash.

KJP candidate D K Sidram is also a serious contender.


Aurad, the most backward taluk, is witnessing a triangular fight among sitting MLA Prabhu Chauhan of BJP, Dhanaji of KJP and Vijaykumar of Congress.


In Humnabad, the stage is set for a battle between Nasimoddin Patel of JD(S) and Rajshekar Patil of Congress. Though this constituency favoured both Congress and JD(S) previously, it elected Subhash Kallur of BJP once in 1999.

In 1978, 1983, 1985, 1989, Basavaraj Patil Humnabad, who is the father of Congress candidate Rajshekar Patil, won on Congress ticket, while in 2003 and 2004, Mirajuddin Patel won. In 2008, Rajshekar Patil won.

Late Mirajuddin Patil’s brother Nasimoddin Patel is contesting as the JD(S) candidate. Rajshekar Patil’s father cannot campaign in his favour as he is a BJP MLC.


Basavakalyan is witnessing a clash among two former MLAs and the wife of a leader who was elected from Basavakalyan five times since 1983.

Basavaraj Patil Attur got elected in 1983, 1985, 1989, 1994 and in 2008 (BJP), M G Mule of JD(S) was elected in 1999. In 2004, Mallikarjun Khuba of JD(S) defeated Attur. A few months back, Attur joined KJP after quitting BJP. However, as his health did not permit him to contest, KJP has fielded Attur’s wife Mallamma as its candidate. Khuba is contesting as the JD(S) candidate and Maruti Mule BSR Congress candidate.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp