Film awards on Rajkumar birth anniversary every year

Published: 14th November 2016 01:35 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th November 2016 03:55 AM   |  A+A-


Film editor Suresh Urs, filmmaker Nagathihalli Chandrasekhar, music director Rajan, actor Basanth Kumar Patil, actor Harini and writer Baraguru Ramachandrappa were given lifetime achievement awards du

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: Henceforth, the Karnataka State Film awards will be presented annually and given away on April 24 every year, the birth anniversary of Kannada matinee idol Rajkumar, said Chief Minister Siddaramiah on Sunday. He was speaking after presenting the state film awards.

He also expressed anguish over the deaths of two actors during a film shoot at Thippagondanahalli reservoir. Relief of `5 lakh each was announced for the families of the actors Anil Kumar and Raghav Uday. “We have decided to provide financial annual subsidy of `10 lakh each to 125 films as against 100 films in order to motivate film makers,” he said.

The film ‘Thithi’ won the first best movie for the year 2015. The best actor and best actress awards were bagged by Vijay Raghavendra and Malashree. For 2014, ‘Harivu’ bagged the best movie award while the best actor and best actress awards were given to Sanchari Vijay and  Lakshmi Gopalaswamy.   

The life achievement awards for 2015 were given away to Harini (Dr Rajkumar award), Nagathihalli Chandrashekhar (Puttanna Kanagal award) and Rajan (Dr Vishnuvardhan award).  The winners of life achievement awards 2014 are Basanthkumar Patil (Dr Rajkumar award), Baraguru Ramachandrappa (Puttanna Kanagal award) and Suresh Urs  (Dr Vishnuvardhan award).

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp