56 out of 89 members voted for Kannada writer Kambara

Kambara, is the third Kannada writer to be elected president of the Akademi, and the first in the past 25 years.

Published: 13th February 2018 02:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th February 2018 05:02 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BENGALURU:  During the election, Kambara secured 56 of the 89 votes polled by members of the general council to elect the president of the Akademi and emerged as the winner. Prathiba Ray, who was also a favourite in the run-up to the elections, secured 29 votes, and Bhalanchandra got four of all the votes polled. Kambara, is the third Kannada writer to be elected president of the Akademi, and the first in the past 25 years.

The first Kannada writer to head the Akademi was Jnanpith winner Vinayak Krishna Gokak in 1983. In 1993, another eminent writer and Jnanpith winner U R Ananthmurthy was elected to head the Akademi in 1993. Kambara, prior to his elevation as president, was formerly the vice president of the Akademi. He was also the first vicechancellor of Kannada University in Hampi, and has carved his own niche in Kannada literature.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp