BSY takes best shot at defusing anger, appoints district in-charge ministers

Keeps the Bengaluru Urban district charge with himself; Sriramulu given charge of Yadgir to keep him away from Ballari

Published: 17th September 2019 06:05 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th September 2019 06:05 AM   |  A+A-

Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa listens to people’s grievances at his residence, in Bengaluru on Monday | EXPRESS

Express News Service

BENGALURU: Before the cold war between his ministers, especially those hailing from same communities or districts, could reach a boiling point, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has taken his best shot at peace by appointing district-in-charge ministers. In choosing to keep the coveted Bengaluru Urban district with himself, the CM has also attempted to avoid a full-blown battle between two key cabinet colleagues from the city- Deputy Chief Minister Dr CN Ashwath Narayan and Revenue Minister R Ashok.

Also, in an evident attempt to keep Sriramulu- whose association with Janardhana Reddy is no secret- away from his home turf of Ballari, Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi has been given charge of the district.

Yediyurappa, who could not have his say in portfolio allocation with the BJP’s Central leadership imposing three deputy Chief Ministers on him, has been firefighting disgruntlement within his 18-member cabinet.

Monday’s appointments have given him the chance to keep the warring factions in check, if not to diffuse the situation completely. Some ministers have been given more than one district as additional responsibility even to convey a message to future ministerial berth aspirants that all is not lost and that their responsibilities await them.  

Deputy Chief Minister Govind Karjol has been given charge of Bagalkot with the additional responsibility of Kalburgi while Dr Ashwath Narayan has been made in-charge of the Vokkaliga-dominant Ramanagara and Chikkaballapur districts. Apart from Ballari, Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi will also additionally be in-charge of Koppal.

KS Eshwarappa, as expected has been given charge of Shivamogga but will additionally be in-charge of Davangere. R Ashoka, who fears being replaced by Ashwath Narayana as BJP’s Vokkaliga face in Bengaluru, has been made in-charge of Bengaluru rural with the additional charge of Mandya. The coveted district of Belagavi has been entrusted with Jagadish Shettar who is also additionally in-charge of Hubballi-Dharwad.

Tactfully keeping Sriramulu away from his fort of power- Ballari, Yediyurappa has given assigned him Raichur and Chitradurga where he hopes to emerge as an ST mass leader. Suresh Kumar has been appointed in-charge of Chamarajanagar while another Bengaluru minister V Somanna has been made in-charge of Mysuru with additional charge of Kodagu.

CT Ravi has been appointed in-charge of his home turf Chikkamagalur while Basavraj Bommai is in-charge minister of Udupi with the additional charge of Haveri. Kota Srinivas Poojari will be Dakshin Kannada in-charge minister while JC Madhuswamy was allocated his home turf of Tumakuru along with additional charge of Hassan.

CC Patil will be in-charge minister for Gadag with the additional charge of Vijayapura while independent MLA-turned-minister H Nagesh has been made in-charge of Kolar. First time minister Prabhu Chauhan has been made in-charge minister of Bidar with the additional charge of Yadgir while the lone woman minister in the cabinet, Shashikala Jolle will be in-charge for Uttara Kannada.

Fully aware of the disgruntlement brewing within his cabinet over seniority being trumped by Central leadership’s personal picks, Yediyurappa has tried to keep fresh controversies at bay. While the appointments hope to keep the fire of disgruntlement in the cabinet from rising, it is also aimed at keeping hopes of ministerial aspirants alive.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp