Win some, lose some for families - The New Indian Express

Win some, lose some for families

Published: 09th May 2013 08:17 AM

Last Updated: 09th May 2013 08:17 AM

The electorate of the state have preferred to elect members of the same family in several constituencies across the state, while rejecting some other.

They have sent state JD(S) president H D Kumaraswamy to Vidhana Soudha from Ramanagaram, but defeated his wife Anitha Kumaraswamy, a sitting MLA from Madhugiri in Tumkur, who chose to contest from Channapatna constituency, adjacent to Ramanagaram.

However, Kumaraswamy’s brother H D Revanna, who contested from Holenarsipur, has managed to win the polls.The father-son pairs in the Congress - Shamanur Shivashankarappa and S S Mallikarjun; M Krishnappa and Priya Krishna have won from their respective constituencies. While Shivashankarappa was elected from Davangere South, his son Mallikarjuna entered the Assembly from Davangere North Assembly constituency.

Krishnappa, a realtor, retained his Vijayanagar seat in Bangalore city and his son did the same from the neighbouring Govindarajanagar constituency.

It is also a bitter-sweet experience for M Krishnappa who retained Bangalore South seat. However, his brother M Srinivas, lost in Rajarajeswarinagar constituency. Both contested on BJP tickets.

Sibling Rivalry

Similar was the fate of former chief minister S Bangarappa’s sons who crossed swords with each other in Soraba constituency in Shimoga.

Madhu Bangarappa won on a JD(S) ticket defeating his brother Kumar Bangarappa of the Congress.

In Belgaum district, three members of a Jarkiholi family have won the elections.

Former railway minister Jaffer Sharief’s son-in-law Syed Yasin and grandson C K Abdul Rahman Sharief have lost in Raichur and Hebbal, respectively.

Congress candidate Venkatesh Naik defeated his grandson Shivananda Naik of the BJP in Devadurga constituency of Raichur district.

Jarkiholi Brothers Retain Seats

All the three sitting MLAs of the Gokak-based Jarkiholi family retained their seats. However, another member of the family lost again to one of his brothers.

Satish and Ramesh Jarkiholi retained Yamakanamaradi and Gokak Assembly constituencies, respectively for the Congress and Balchandra Jarkiholi won from Arabhavi segment representing the BJP.

However, Bhimashi Jarkiholi, who contested against his brother Ramesh Jarkiholi for the second time from Gokak as an Independent, tasted defeat. Bhimashi had contested unsuccessfully from the BJP in 2008 elections and managed to get more than 20,000 votes. However, this year he did not get even 2,000 votes.

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.


Recent Activity

Pinterest Google Plus Twitter Facebook tumblr RSS Mobile Site apple Newshunt