Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards announced

THRISSUR: Kerala Sahitya Akademi announced the Akademi Awards and fellowships for the year 2010 at a press conference on the Akademi premises on Thursday. K Sachithanandan and C Radhakri

Published: 07th January 2011 02:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 08:10 PM   |  A+A-

THRISSUR: Kerala Sahitya Akademi announced the Akademi Awards and fellowships for the year 2010 at a press conference on the Akademi premises on Thursday.

K Sachithanandan and C Radhakrishnan bagged the fellowships of Kerala Sahitya Akademi for 2010.

Announcing the awards, Akademi president P Valsala said the fellowships consist of Rs 50,000, a gold pendent weighing 16 grams, a citation, a ponnada and a plaque each.

Valsala said that Omcheri NN Pillai, S Ramesan Nair, K Gopalakrishnan, Malayath Appunni, Sara Thomas and Joseph Mattam were selected for the puraskarams for the overall contributions to the literature which consist of Rs 30,000, a ponnada and a plaque each. Valsala also announced the Akademi awards, consisting of Rs 25,000, citation and a plaque each. Khadeeja Mumtaz's Barsa got the award for novel while Mullanezhy's poetry Kavitha won the award for poetry.

The award for drama has gone to A Santhakumar's Maram Peyyunnu.

EP Sreekumar's Parasya Sareeram has been selected as the best short story while MR Chandreshekharan won the award for literary criticism for his Malayala Novel Innum Innaleyum.

The award for informatics has gone to T Pradeep's Kunjukanangalkku Vasantham and Dr PKR Varier won the award for autobiography for Anubhavangal Anubhaavangal.

Marubhoomiyude Athmakadha of Musafar Ahammed won the award for travelogue and Ashalatha won the award for translation for Aadinte Virunnu. The award for children's literature has gone to Sumangala for Nadannu Theeratha Vazhikal and CR Omanakkuttan won the award for humorous literature for Sreebhoothavilasam Nair Hotel.

Akademi president also announced the endowment awards for 2010. They were IC Chacko Award (Rs 2,000) to P Sreekumar, CB Kumar Award (Rs 3,000) to Hameed Chendamangaloor, KR Namboothiri Award (Rs 2,000) to PV Ramankutty, Kanakasree Award (Rs 2,000) to Soorya Binoy, Geeta Hiranyan Award (Rs 5000) to Susmesh Chandroth, GN Pillai Award (Rs 3,000) to K Babu Joseph and Kuttipuzha Award (Rs 2,000) to Dr NM Namboothiri.

The awards were finalised at the executive committee meeting of the Akademi held on Thursday. "We have really good writers and works, which ensures that the era of books and literature will not end soon," Valsala said.

The awards will be distributed at the annual function of the Akademi to be held in February. Akademi secretary Purushan Kadalundy said the Akademi was planning a special award for layout.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp