No Surprises: Ravi, Vahab, Ragesh Elected

Published: 21st April 2015 06:05 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st April 2015 06:05 AM   |  A+A-

Vayalar Ravi

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Vayalar Ravi (Congress), P V Abdul Vahab (IUML) and K K Ragesh (CPM) were elected to the Rajya Sabha from the state, for which elections were held on Monday, putting an end to all political speculations.

There was no drain of votes in both the UDF and LDF, despite allegations of attempts by the Left camp to woo the RSP and JD(U). K Rajan (CPI), the second candidate of the LDF, who could muster only 29 votes, lost.

CPI Legislature Party leader C Divakaran said he and V S Achuthanandan had contacted JD(U) and RSP leaders and urged them to vote for LDF nominees in the RS polls, but the claim was denied by both the parties. Achuthanandan refused to comment.

Congress and CPM nominees garnered 37 votes each. The IUML candidate got 36 votes. The UDF has a total 73 votes and the LDF strength in the Assembly is 65. Kerala Congress (B) MLA K B Ganesh Kumar aligned with the Left once again like the Speaker polls, lifting their total strength to 66.

Veteran Congress leader Vayalar Ravi is entering the Upper House of the Parliament for the fourth time, and third in a row. For businessman- politician P V Abdul Vahab, who is the state secretary of the IUML, this is the second stint. K K Ragesh, former national secretary and president of SFI is entering the Upper House for the first time.   

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp