New-Gen Wave Sweeps Kerala Awards

New generation talent in Mollywood received due recognition with youth sensation Nivin Pauly, Sudev Nair and Nazriya Nazim being adjudged the best actors.

Published: 11th August 2015 05:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th August 2015 05:07 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:  New generation talent in Mollywood received due recognition with youth sensation Nivin Pauly, Sudev Nair and Nazriya Nazim being adjudged the best actors at the 45th State Film Awards announced on Monday.

Ottal directed by ace filmmaker Jayaraj has been adjudged the best film and Sanalkumar Sasidharan the best director for the film Oralpokkam. My Life Partner, directed by Padmakumar is the second best film.

The awards for the year 2014 were announced by Minister Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan here.

Nivin Pauly (Bangalore Days and 1983) shared the best actor award with Sudev Nair (My Life Partner). Nazriya’s effortless performances in Om Shanti Oshana and Bangalore Days fetched her the top honour.

Anoop Menon won the second best actor award for his role in 1983 and Vikaramdithyan, while Sethulakshmi was the second best actress (How Old Are You).

Advaith was the best male child artist for Ankuram, while Anna Fatima was the best female child artist for Randu Penkuttikal.

Siddharth Shiva who penned the story of Ain is the best story-writer and Anjali Menon is the best scenarist (Banglore Days).

The jury also chose Amal Neerad as best cinematographer for Iyobinte Pusthakam and Ranjith Njan for best adapted screenplay. Abrid Shine was adjudged best debutant director for 1983 while Om Shanti Oshana is the best film with popular appeal and aesthetic value.    

O S Unnithan is the best lyricist (La Sa Gu) and Ramesh Narayanan the best music director (White Boys).  The jury also found Bijibal’s background score as the best while K J Yesudas (Aditya kiranangal... from White Boys) and Shreya Ghoshal (Vijanathayil... from How Old Are You) are the best playback singers.

Other awards: Lijo Paul (Om Shanti Oshana) for best editing, Indulal Kaveedu (Njan Ninnodukoodeyundu) best art direction,  Harikumar (various films) best sound mixing and Sandeep Kurissery and Jijimon Joseph (Oralppokkam) best live sound, Tapas Nayak for best sound design (Iyobinte Pusthakam).

Ranganathan (Prism and Pixels) won the award for the best film processing lab, while Manoj Ankamali (Iyobine Pusthakam) is the best make-up artiste and Sameera Saneesh (various films) the best costume designer.

Harishant (White Boys) and Vimi Mariam George (Munnariyippu) are the best dubbing artists in male and female categories.

Sajna Najam (Vikramadithyan) is the best choreographer. Ankuram directed by T Deepesh is the best children’s film. 

Special Awards

Special jury awards will be given to Prathap Pothen (acting) for Once Upon a Time there Was a Kallan, M G Swarasagar (singing) for Manalchitrangal, Dr George Mathew (production) for Apothecary, A U P S Chembrassery (production) for La Sa Gu, Yakzan Gary Pereira and Neha S Nair (music direction) for Iyobinte Pusthakam and Indrans (acting) for Apothecary.

Writings on Cinema

Athijeevanathinte Chalachitrabhashyangal by V J Joseph was selected as the best book on cinema, while Shabdalokathe Ilamangadha by Ravi Menon and Payalupole Pranayam by K C Jayachandran were selected as the best film articles.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp