International Film Festival of Kerala 2017: Curtain to go up on December 8

 Noted Bengali actor Madhabi Mukherjee will be the chief guest at the 22nd edition of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) which will be held here from  December 8 to 15. 

Published: 07th November 2017 01:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th November 2017 12:48 PM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Noted Bengali actor Madhabi Mukherjee will be the chief guest at the 22nd edition of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) which will be held here from  December 8 to 15. Russian filmmaker Alexander Sokurov will be presented with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award, said Chalachitra Academy chairman Kamal at the news conference here on Monday.
A retrospective of Sokurov’s six films will be held at the festival. Besides, retrospectives of Philippine director Lino Brocka and noted Malayalam film maker K P Kumaran’s films will be featured.

Films will be featured across various categories at the festival. In the Contemporary Master in Focus category, movies of Mexican film director Michel Franco and Chad film director Mahamat Saleh Haroun will be featured. 

Two Malayalam films in Int’l Competition category
The Malayalam films of two debutant directors have found a place in the International Competition category. Prem Shankar’s ‘Randuper’ and Sanju Surendran’s ‘Aedan’ will be competing in the International category along with two Indian films; Newton and Village Rockstars.In the Malayalam Cinema Today category, the movies ‘Take off’, ‘Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum’, ‘Karutha Joothan’, ‘Angamali Diaries’, ‘Maravi’,  ‘Athishayangalude Venal’ and ‘Nayinte Hridayam’ will be featured.

The Indian Cinema Today categoiry will feature seven films. Paying tribute to film legends, the Homage category will screen movies of directors Kundan Shah, K R Mohanan, I V Sasi and Om Puri.
The festival will include movies from other categories like Identity and Space, Contemporary Asian Cinema, Japanese Animation, Restored Classics and Jury Films.The festival will be held across 14 theatres.The fee for delegates is priced at Rs 650 and for students at Rs 350. Entry will be restricted to the number of seats in each theatre.

There will be 8000 seats in 14 theatres and only 10,000 delegate passes will be issued this year.   In the general category 7000 passes will be allotted. Students and film and television professionals will be given 1000 passes. Besides, 500 media passes and 50 passes for film society members will be issued.

The delegate registration  will begin on November 10. The dates for each category are as follows:
Students- November 10 to 12; General category- November 13 to 15; Film and Television Professionals- November 16 to 18; Film Societies- November 19 to 21; Media- November 22 to 24. Those who register  under each category will have to pay the delegate fee within the prescribed  closing day of that category. Those who  have registered  last year can use their existing  user name and password. The fee can be paid online and at Akshaya centres.

Delegates aged 70 and above will not be required to stand in the queue. The delegate cell will start functioning at the Academy office at Sasthamangalam on November 10.Vice chairperson Bina Paul and secretary Mahesh  Panju were also present at the news conference .

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp