LDF first off blocks, bickering in Congress, BJP still undecided

The Muslim League has finalised the name of MC Kamaruddin for Manjeswar.

Published: 26th September 2019 04:24 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th September 2019 04:24 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Left Democratic Front (LDF) is once again off the blocks in finalising its candidate list for the October 21 bypolls in five assembly constituencies in the state even as bickering within the Congress has delayed its selection. BJP-led NDA too is yet to finalise its names.

While the CPM Thiruvananthapuram district secretariat has finalised the name of Corporation Mayor V K Prasanth for the Vattiyoorkavu seat, the party’s Alappuzha secretariat has selected DYFI state vice-president and CPM district secretariat member Manu C Pulikkal for the Aroor seat. In Ernakulam seat, name of Manu C Roy is more or less finalised as a Left-backed independent candidate.

In Manjeshwar, the LDF has tentatively finalised the name of C H Kunjambu, who is a CPM state committee member. For the Konni seat, the CPM Pathanamthitta district secretariat has decided to nominate DYFI state vice-president K U Janeesh Kumar.

The Muslim League has finalised the name of MC Kamaruddin for Manjeshwar. The Congress is expected to announce its candidate list on Friday.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp