Malayalam University to start arts, science courses 

The committee has also decided to confer literature stalwarts Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri, C Radhakrishnan, and Scaria Zacharia with honorary D.Lit.

Published: 29th September 2019 04:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th September 2019 04:07 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

MALAPPURAM: The Thunchath Ezhuthachan Malayalam University, an institution established exclusively to promote study and research of Malayalam language, literature, and Kerala culture, will soon start courses in arts and science.

The university authorities, in a syndicate committee meeting held here on Friday, decided to begin the Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Science apart from the already existing five other faculties - linguistics, literature, cultural heritage and history, media studies, and social sciences. 
Vice-Chancellor V Anil Kumar said the decision was taken to make courses in science and arts available in Malayalam medium to the students in Kerala. “Students in the state will get a better institute to learn arts and science subjects in Malayalam medium, once we start these faculties. 
The courses under the faculties will be decided by a soon to be appointed boards of studies and advisory boards for these faculties. 

At present, we are offering the MSc Environmental Studies under the Department of Social Sciences. Soon, the MSc course will be started under Faculty of Science,” said Anil Kumar. 
Meanwhile, a section in the university has raised concern over the decision.They said providing science courses in Malayalam will not be easy and finding Malayalam translation for scientific terms will be a Herculean task for the professors in the new departments as well as students. 
However, the VC expressed confidence and said the curriculum for science courses would be developed by experts in science and Malayalam literature.

“We may not  find exact translations for all scientific words. But the curriculum will be developed by giving least importance to other languages,” he added. 
The committee has also decided to confer literature stalwarts Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri, C Radhakrishnan, and Scaria Zacharia with honorary D.Lit.
 The doctoral certificates will be handed over to them at a function to be conducted soon in the university. Governor Arif Mohammad Khan will attend the function. This is the first time, the university is going to confer an honorary doctorate since it was established in 2012.

Registrar-in-charge T Anitha Kumari, Higher Education Department joint secretary R Vijayakumar, Finance Department Additional Secretary Ferold Xavier, Cultural Department joint secretary K Geetha and other syndicate members attended the meeting.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp