State Sahitya Akademi awards announced

Orissa Sahitya Akademi announced awards for the years 2005 and 2006 at an executive council meeting .

Published: 22nd January 2009 03:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th May 2012 10:24 PM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: Orissa Sahitya Akademi today announced awards for the years 2005 and 2006 at an executive council meeting held here under its president Husen Rabi Gandhi. The council declared awards in nine categories of Oriya literature.

The awardees would be felicitated at a special ceremony later, stated an akademi release. The winners are:

FOR 2005: Novel (Bibarna Pruthibi) Surendra Nayak, short story (Sahajatri) Debabrata Madanray, poetry (Akashi Manisha) Amaresh Patnaik, drama and play (Pakshi) Bhaskar Chandra Mohapatra, essay and criticism (Ekabinsa Satabdira Sahitya) Raicharan Das, biography and travelogue (Jibanara Pathaprante) Sarat Chandra Mishra, translation (Samadhi Hebani Auu...) Saudamini Udgata, children’s literature (Kichiri Michiri Chin) Sunamani Rout and lyrical poetry (Kadua Nai) Subash Kar.

FOR 2006: Novel (Shoka Dibasa) Paresh Kumar Patnaik, short story (Birala Rupaka) Paramita Satapathy, poetry (Bharata Barsha) Girija Kumar Baliarsingh, drama and play (Kallole Kallola and Sambhabami Juge Juge) Dr Saileswara Nanda and Sudhakar Nanda (joint winners), essay and criticism (Nirbachita Prabandha Sankalana) Gaganendranath Dash, biography and travelogue (Americare Kichi Dina) Basudeb Sahu, translation (Qurrat-ul-ain Haideranka Nirbachita Kahani) Kumar Hassan, children’s literature (Manika) Malakar and lyrical poetry (Krupajala) Prafulla Kar.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp