‘Balunga Toka’ best film, Anubhav best actor

BHUBANESWAR: Ollywood heartthrobs Anubhav and Archita won the best actor and actress awards for ‘Balunga Toka’ and ‘Chocolate’ respectively at the 3rd Tarang Cine Awards given away in a glitte

Published: 13th March 2012 09:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 06:34 PM   |  A+A-


BHUBANESWAR: Ollywood heartthrobs Anubhav and Archita won the best actor and actress awards for ‘Balunga Toka’ and ‘Chocolate’ respectively at the 3rd Tarang Cine Awards given away in a glittering ceremony here on Saturday evening.

 Chocolate, in fact, swept the prestigious awards bagging seven of the 19 on offer even as Balunga Toka was adjudged the best film and got awards in three other categories.

 Sushant Mani won the best director and cinematographer awards and Bapu Goswami  the best dialogue award for Chocolate. Hero of the film __ Babusan __ who had unleashed his singing talents, won the best playback singer award while Aparajita bagged the best supporting actress award. Birenjyoti Mohanty won in the best editing category for the same movie.

 For Balunga Toka, apart from Anubhav, Minaketan bagged the best supporting actor award along with Pappu Pom Pom as the best comedian. The hero and heroine of ‘Mu Premi Mu Pagal’ __ Harihara and Anubha respectively __ were adjudged best newcomers while Prem Anand was the best music director for his scores in ‘Chandni I Miss You’. Tapu Mishra won the best playback singer (female) for Chandni I Miss You and Samaresh the best villain award for ‘Loafer’. AK Bir was adjudged the best cinematographer for the critically-acclaimed ‘Jianta Bhuta’.

 The awards nite was marked by spectacular performances by stars of Ollywood with Bollywood actor Om Puri in their midst. The acclaimed actor along with Jagi Mangat Panda, Director of Orissa Television Network, presented the lifetime achievement award to veteran actor Sarat Pujari in recognition of his invaluable contribution to Odia cinema and its development.  The stars Anubhav, Anu, Sabyasachi, Arindam, Namrata Thappa, Gargi, Upasana, Jaya and Debasish held the audience  spellbound with their dance performances. The hosts Budhhaditya, Sabyasachi, Usasi, Meghna and Priya excelled in their presentations too.

 The complete programme would be telecast on Tarang channel on March 25 at 7 pm.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp