Naveen Patnaik suspends OJM leader

Published: 04th October 2012 12:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th October 2012 12:38 PM   |  A+A-


The BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday suspended party general secretary Jagneswar Babu for anti-party activities.

Jagneswar is a staunch loyalist of dissident Pyarimohan Mohapatra and spokesperson of the Odisha Jan Morcha (OJM), floated by Pyari, to bring reforms in the regional outfit.

Jagneswar was the only BJD leader who had openly associated himself with Pyari by joining the OJM, which was announced on Sunday. He had invited the CM’s ire by calling his (Naveen’s) statement describing OJM as the B team of Congress as irresponsible.

Naveen’s action against Jagneswar has come as a warning to other party leaders who were toying with the idea of joining the Morcha.

“If the demand to bring reforms in the regional party by holding meetings of the block, district and State level committees is anti-party, I will continue to indulge in such activities,” Jagneswar said reacting to his suspension.

“The voice for bringing reforms in the party cannot be muzzled by such action,” he said, welcoming the suspension order.

Jagneswar, however, said he is yet to receive any communication from the party president. He had announced on behalf of Pyari on October 1 the formation of OJM and said, “the aims and objectives of the Morcha will be announced on October 19 at a meeting in Bhubaneswar.”

He had made it clear that OJM was not a separate political party, but a platform within the BJD to work for internal democracy and rights of 27 lakh party workers in the State.

Pyari and two BJD MLAs, Prabhat Biswal and Bibhuti Bhusan Balabantray, were suspended from the party on June 1 after the failed attempt on May 29 to oust Naveen from the party. Naveen had also dropped Anjali Behera and Sanjib Sahu from the ministry for their alleged role in the coup bid.

In a major reshuffle two months after the coup attempt, the CM had dropped five ministers, including the powerful finance minister Prafulla Chandra Ghadei. Others dropped from the ministry included

Prafulla Samal, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, Pushpendra Singhdeo and Pratap Jena.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp