With No Other Contenders, AIADMK Set to Win By-election to Rajya Sabha

A Navaneethakrishnan, former chairman of Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission, is the AIADMK candidate.

Published: 24th June 2014 07:16 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th June 2014 07:25 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: The AIADMK is all set to win the by-election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tamil Nadu as no other political party had fielded candidates till Monday, the last day for filing nominations. With this, the strength of the AIADMK in the Upper House of Parliament will go up to 11.

Though four independents filed their nominations, they are set to be rejected since their nominations were not seconded by 10 MLAs, the requisite for contesting the election. To elect an MP from Tamil Nadu, a political party needs the support of 34 MLAs in the Assembly and as of now, no political party has the required strength.

A Navaneethakrishnan, former chairman of Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission, is the AIADMK candidate. On being elected, he will be serving as a member of Rajya Sabha till June 29, 2016. The seat fell vacant following the disqualification of DMK MP T M Selvaganapathi after his conviction in cremation shed scam by a special CBI Court in Chennai on April 17.

Just 15 minutes before the deadline for filing nominations, an independent candidate TN Velmurugan Chozhaganar came with a bag of coins of Rs. 10 for the nomination fee of Rs. 10,000 and filed his papers. He told mediapersons that he had paid the nomination fee in ‘naanayams’ (coins) to symbolically indicate that honesty has been receding in all walks of life.

The scrutiny of nominations will take place on June 24 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 26.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp